Ovation model differences

DoctorEvil

Hi Mooniacs,

I am a newbie based in Bristol, UK and just starting my PPL training.
Understand I am jumping the gun a little by looking at plane options already, but I really like the Mooney aircraft and community and feel it would make sense to buy a plane in the coming 12 months that is a little beyond my needs, so I can stretch my legs into it, so to speak.

I would prefer not to buy a PA-28 (what I am training in) and then have to sell it and lose a lot of money when I step up to a Mooney.  Hope this makes some sense.

Having searched the forum already I haven't found a definitive breakdown of the differences between the various Ovation models, so apologies if I missed it.  But if not, could anyone chime in with the notable Ovation differences?

I have read about issues with the Garmin G1000 equipped in some Ovations and wonder if this is still an issue, or likely to be be rectified without a serious panel upgrade if not already resolved?

Are there ay other Ovation specific gotcha's I may run into?

Being 6'3" tall and weighing 92kg I think I should fit in a Mooney, but definitely want the long body and prefer the modern, lowered panel.  I am thinking I am less likely to have to sink a lot of money into a panel upgrade it if the stock equipment is modern and serviceable.  Otherwise I would jump straight to a J and save a lot of money.

From the UK I would like to fly around Europe, all year round once my certification and experience permits it, so FIKI and built in O2 are useful.  Wonder if these can be retrofitted to factory spec if not already in a particular plane I end up buying e.g. not aftermarket stuck on bits?

Any help and advice would be much appreciated. 

Thanks and apologies for all the random questions :-]

Edited by DoctorEvil

38 minutes ago, DoctorEvil said:

Hi Mooniacs,