It's time for the GPS

MooneyBob

I finally decide to get the GPS. I have no experiences with any panel installed GPS units so far. I use Garmin Pilot app and I like it. That's why I am leaning towards Garmin either 650 or 750.

1. Any reason to go with 750 except larger screen? Is the 650 small for aging eyes?

2. Any reason take a serious look at the Avidyne IFD540?

3. What is the expected price for installed 650 and 750?

4. Any other equipment recommended to comply with the ADS-B out?

5. Any recommended avionic shops in the NJ, PA, NY area?

Thanks

I finally decide to get the GPS. I have no experiences with any panel installed GPS units so far. I use Garmin Pilot app and I like it. That's why I am leaning towards Garmin either 650 or 750.

1. Any reason to go with 750 except larger screen? Is the 650 small for aging eyes?

2. Any reason take a serious look at the Avidyne IFD540?

3. What is the expected price for installed 650 and 750?

4. Any other equipment recommended to comply with the ADS-B out?

5. Any recommended avionic shops in the NJ, PA, NY area?

Thanks

Bob - if you are not planning on having a 695 or 795 or some other MFD in the panel, I would with the 750.

I have a 650 and I can see it fine. But once I get flightplan loaded, I'm looking at the Aspens.

For your other questions:

3) $13.5k for 650 and $17.Xk for the 750

4) If you intend on going the poor house, you might as well get the GDL-88 and Flighstream 210 since you like GP. Plan on another $8k

5) Look around, get quotes not estimates and drop the NJ Mooney group a note on who are considering.

• Like 2

What's the motivation, the goal? LPV approaches? GPSS for your auto-pilot? Traffic? Weather? Reliability? Redundancy? HSI? XM? Battery backup? Audio terrain alerts? Just the GPS, or replacing everything? And of course, the budget?