Power settings

I know there are countless of pages regarding power setting and how to run this engine. But when I try any of these power settings. I can't get anywhere near the fuel burn for that particular power. I must be doing something wrong and not leaning properly. I'm afraid to lean this airplane (ROP or LOP) because when I start to. My engine gets ridiculously hot like 413°. It seems like I can only fly this engine at full rich when I'm above 14,000. I just did a long cross-country from Utah to New York. I'm tried different settings and the results are not what I was expecting.

I should note that I am still learning this plane

20240712_195035.jpg

Edited by Patrick Horan

At that power setting on a M20M you should be able to set around 18GPH ROP and keep the temps in check. Have you tried opening your cowl flaps in cruise? Some folk have reported needing them half way open in cruise for adequate CHT control. Your CHTs are relatively even so probably not a baffling issue.

Your TIT doesn’t look correct to me, as compared to the individual EGTs. Generally the TIT runs about 50 degrees higher than the average of the individual EGTs on my engine. Yours looks about 100 degrees lower than where I’d expect it to be, which may indicate a tired and failing TIT probe. They last 200-300 hours in my experience.

If you want to try something different and are willing to run at a lower power setting, try 30/2200 and ~16.5GPH. That’s a ROP setting at about 75%. Adjust the cowl flaps to see if you can keep the CHTs in the 360-380 range. TIT will be in the mid 1500s. If you want to try LOP, pull the fuel flow back to 13.2GPH and see if your engine will run ok there. That’s 70%. You should be able to keep CHTs in the 330-350 range and the TIT under 1600.