Passed my PPL Checkride and...

Rik

I was asking the DPE, what is a good plane? etc. I mentioned a Mooney vs Bonanza argument that everyone throws at you when you say "I'm getting my PPL"  Oh.... You need to get a Bonanza or a Mooney!

Well he has his opinion on the Mooney as a cheap, fast plane but not his favorite plane. He said they are always in yaw control and that to make a Mooney turn you are basically turning off the yaw control in order to get the plane to turn?

Never heard this before. True?

Oh, he's a Cessna fan by the way.

• Like 1

Congrats!  As to the yaw control, that may be something on the newer models (I have no experience with those).  However, it is definitely not something that I have to contend with on my '77 M20J.  It goes exactly where you point it and is very responsive.  I second the above advice, fly both and make up your own mind. 

I am sure the DPE was referring to the PC wing leveler systems on the vintage mooney. Too turn, you disable it by pressing the button on the yoke. Not a big deal and those that don't want them always on use a rubber band to disable it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 1

I am sure the DPE was referring to the PC wing leveler systems on the vintage mooney. Too turn, you disable it by pressing the button on the yoke. Not a big deal and those that don't want them always on use a rubber band to disable it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

some of us don't bother with disabling it, and just turn the yoke anyway. I fly with the Brittain heading bug most of the time when going places, but leave it off when just farting around or practicing approaches / maneuvers.

Congrats on the PPL!!!!

For all the stories, about all the planes out there, I haven't met one yet that didn't respond to control inputs, and fly pretty darn well when properly controlled by a capable pilot.  A lot of urban legend and aircraft envy at work IMHO.  FWIW

• Like 1