New Mooney owner suggestions

I am a relatively low time pilot (300hrs over 18yrs), stepping into a Mooney M20J from a Beechcraft Sierra C24R.  The Sierra was comfortable, but was too slow for my missions (4-500 mile trips) What things does a new owner need to know?  Suggestions on getting acclimated with the airplane.  Things I need to buy specific to Mooney's?  I will have to upgrade the panel and repair a few things in the future.  Replacing a Century2 autopilot, KMA20 audio panel, installing a newer COM#2, Install ADS-B transponder with adsb-in, etc.  I am planning on flying 150hrs a year to stay current in it.

My plan is to step into the Mooney word with the J, and eventually step up again to an Ovation in 5 years or so.  

Just be aware that 150 hours in an N20-J is a LOT more distance and travel than in a Sierra . . .

Learn the new sight picture. Learn what the numbers are for your plane--MP/RPM/Mixture for pattern work, base leg, final, short final; instrument approaches, speed at IAF & FAF; cruise performance at various altitudes, power on descents, and how to slow down after descent to enter the pattern.

The last one there took me the longest. I used to plan to be at pattern altitude 3-5 miles from the field, so that I could slow down under my 125mph flap speed before entering downwind. With practice and experience, I figured out how to do it with a much smaller buffer, but did turn downwind just over flapspeed a few times . . .

Congratulations on your "new" plane! Maybe we will meet up at some airport somewhere.

• Like 1

You'll love the J; congratulations on the purchase. The J is a great airplane and a great fit for 400-500 miles trips.