Is anyone a Structural DER?

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

I need to find or hire a Structural DER to do a ridiculously simple task.

To wit, I cannot convice a even one local MIDO guy to permit me to use a single first oversize bolt to mount a control wheel to the control shaft in a repair action.  I cannot convince them that the tensile forces in the control shaft will not change -- and that the compressive loads at the joint itself will be LOWER, and not higher.

I am an engineer, and I have all the math and can send it to you -- see the attached COSMOS graphics.  All I want to do is replace the Mooney 3/16 taper pin with a first oversize 3/16 bolt (NAS 6603-14X).  The shaft is alloy steel with a constant section, and the hole is well over the diameter of the bolt from the control wheel end.  The bolt hole is distorted (elongated) only in roll, and by only a few thousands.  It is not cracked or crazed.  It probably distorted becasue of a poor line reaming job when it was reamed for the taper pin.  I want to save it, becasue a replacement shaft is over $500.

All they can say is, "get a DER". Cry

Slight change in the FAA moto -- They are from the FAA, and they are here to be helpless.

RFB

post-256-13468137901016_thumb.jpg

post-256-13468137901303_thumb.jpg

A MIDO inspector has no authority to approve a design change or repair. MIDO inspectors are parts manufacturers (PMA) inspectors and they go by previously approved data. To get a field approval you need to check with your local FSDO office. What you describe is a standard repair option that does not justify a field approval process. The use of oversize fasteners for repair is common practice in aviation. Just have it look by your IA. Don't bother your FSDO for this.

José

Guest Anonymous

Quote: KSMooniac