High oil temp - ream vernatherm seat

Sorry Marauder et al, I can't remember the thread where I and others have worked on reducing oil temps. I know I owe a pirep.

Yesterday we reinstalled the Oil Filter Adapter after sending it to the engine shop to have the vernatherm valve seat reamed. (This repair is described in Lycoming SI 1316A.)

I flew this morning for about 40 minutes, climbing at high power and Vy up to 6500' OilT stayed below 200F! And I was able to level at 6500 and cruise at 72% power with the cowl flaps closed. OAT @ 6500 was 24C. Before the seat ream job that power setting would have had the OT climbing toward 210F. 

Happy, happy, happy. 

(Last year I had sent the O cooler and VT valve to Pacific. I've been tweaking baffle seals for 3 years... 

• Like 2

Did you also replace the vernatherm  Was the cone on the vernatherm scored?

I have always thought that, even with an imperfect seal, the majority of the oil would go to the cooler and the amount of hot oil leaking past the seal would be insignificant.

I wouldn't tear my engine apart for 10 deg. , but I would have it re-machined if I had it off.

Sorry Marauder et al, I can't remember the thread where I and others have worked on reducing oil temps. I know I owe a pirep.

Yesterday we reinstalled the Oil Filter Adapter after sending it to the engine shop to have the vernatherm valve seat reamed. (This repair is described in Lycoming SI 1316A.)

I flew this morning for about 40 minutes, climbing at high power and Vy up to 6500' OilT stayed below 200F! And I was able to level at 6500 and cruise at 72% power with the cowl flaps closed. OAT @ 6500 was 24C. Before the seat ream job that power setting would have had the OT climbing toward 210F.

Happy, happy, happy.

(Last year I had sent the O cooler and VT valve to Pacific. I've been tweaking baffle seals for 3 years...

Glad you figured it out. I don't think I ever saw a temp above 200° but will look at my JPI data.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk