Garmin GDL-39

Garmin's new ADS-B weather, traffic portable rx the GDL-39 is out. The great thing is it will drive the 696 or Aera and other portables. So the 696 still has some life left. Not sure what interface will be used to drive the 696. I have the Zaon XRX currently driving the 696 on the TIS input.

There are others out there for roughly the same price that include WAAS and AHRS and can run a non-certified glass panel on an ipad.  This seems advantageous to me, but I have no experience with practicality of it.  I am interested what people who have used these kind of things have to say.

Or were you soliciting info on the GDL-39 inparticular because it will run your 696?  I don't mean to "thread hijack"...

There are others out there for roughly the same price that include WAAS and AHRS and can run a non-certified glass panel on an ipad.  This seems advantageous to me, but I have no experience with the practicality of it.  I am interested what people who have used these kind of things have to say.

Or were you soliciting info on the GDL-39 inparticular because it will run your 696?  I don't mean to "thread hijack"...

I have a 696 & went to a Garmin presentation on the GDL-39 at OSH yesterday. I currently have 'aviator lite' with XM for my 696. The GDL-39 does have my interest. One thing he pointed out is with the Garmin ADS-B weather, you get 'free' traffic info to most units with the 39. There are some particulars to what A/C have the capability to show up on your screen.