Flying magazine Mooney vs. Grumman article - Issue 936

CChris

Hello fellow aviators,

I am new to MS but have already learned so much from the community! I have an M20C under contract, so hopefully soon I'll be able to say I am a proud Mooney owner.

Have you read the AA-5 vs. M20 comparison in their last edition? They compare a Grumman Tiger and an M20C, and even mention the Mooneyspace forum, stating that "a new owner can unlock a level of support, expertise, and camaraderie that owners of less common types can only dream of". I also loved the shots of N6816V - do any of you guys own it? Such a nice-looking bird.

Looks like the new Flying team is doing a good job with the magazine with interesting articles, amazing pictures, and a paper/print quality that makes it a joy to read and collect.

Looking forward to contributing to the forum and meeting other mooniacs - I'm based in South Florida.

Happy flying!
Christianini 

• Like 3

I had a Grumman Tiger, 1976 AA5B. Great little airplane. Very easy to work on. I loved that little thing, but it is nowhere near the speed of the Mooney. I believe I would see about 125-130KTS at about 10gph on a good day. Very comfortable. Very easy to fly and land. It almost lands itself. 

I can't compare it to physically flying a Mooney, other than what is on paper. Never been in a Mooney. The Mooney is what I will be purchasing at the end of the year though. Hopefully a M20F?

54 minutes ago, carusoam said:

Is this thread related to that same article…?

Oddly, I can’t find the actual article…. :)

Best regards,

-a-

It's published in the newest Flying Magazine, which have started to hit mailboxes just this week. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I did my PP in a Tiger.  And later, a friend bought one on my recommendation (long sad story about it).

When I decided to buy, I looked at Tigers, but last spring, there just were not any for sale. And the few that were, were original 6 pack, no HSI, and many no GPS.