Flight Plan L45 to KWVI

Jorge0272

Hi guys, just wanted to run a flight plan by you all.

I have not flown in about 8 years. Did all my flying in Miami. I am now in CA. Got an instructor and did my review and now back up in the air. Planning a small "cross country" this weekend. L45 to KWVI. Hopefully the weather is good. I am new to SoCal so if anyone can give me any flight planning tips? 

Will be flying a Cessna 177B going VFR @ 6500FT. It has no updated avionics. Basic VFR airplane. I will have Foreflight on my iPad with a Stratus 3. 

L45 - STIGR - L62 - AVE - C80 - KCVH - KWVI

Agree.  Bakersfield area - KPRB - KSNS - KWVI.  Watch the restricted area NW of Paso Robles.  Just stay slightly east of it.  Stay above Salinas Class D (2500 MSL), or contact the tower to transit, or skirt the Class D.  From Salinas that will put you on the 45 degree entry to Watsonville runway 20.  That's the preferred runway nearly all the time.

Watch the weather this Sunday.  Ceilings look to be in the 3000 MSL range around Watsonville, higher around Paso and unlimited for Bakersfield.  Maintain cloud and terrain clearance over the hills east of Paso.  Nice low valley from Paso to Watsonville.

Congrats on getting back into flying and we look forward to seeing you.

5 hours ago, Skyland said:

Agree.  Bakersfield area - KPRB - KSNS - KWVI.  Watch the restricted area NW of Paso Robles.  Just stay slightly east of it. 

Controllers will generally tell you to stay east of 101, even when the restricted area is cold.

14 hours ago, 201Mooniac said:

Controllers will generally tell you to stay east of 101, even when the restricted area is cold.