M20J In-Wing Radar

AF M20J

For what it’s worth, I have an old Stormscope installed, and I think it’s awesome - despite a late-80’s monochrome UI. I really like having a real-time sferics source to confirm the delayed Nexrad.

Tbh, I’m not sure whether you were talking about weather radar - but that’s what I assumed?

1 hour ago, AF M20J said:

Hello everyone!

Did anyone ever find use for the in-wing radar systems?
I found it to be pretty useless in general, and am wondering if anyone had experience otherwise....

I've never run across one that was functional.  ;)

Indeed, it has an in-wing radar system, that I think is ineffective due to the absolutely tiny aperture...
It does work, but again, not in a way that is useful to me.
It is definitely *not* a strikefinder. I also have a strikefinder.
The Radar system has an ancient monitor which was surprisingly light, given the tech involved. The radar antenna was not.

IIRC, only 6 J's from '81 were delivered with the option (can't recall the source of that info though)

5 minutes ago, AF M20J said:

Indeed, it has an in-wing radar system, that I think is ineffective due to the absolutely tiny aperture...
It does work, but again, not in a way that is useful to me.
It is definitely *not* a strikefinder. I also have a strikefinder.
The Radar system has an ancient monitor which was surprisingly light, given the tech involved. The radar antenna was not.

IIRC, only 6 J's from '81 were delivered with the option (can't recall the source of that info though)