Seattle - looking into buying a Mooney, but I've never flown in one

Hi Mooney folks,

I'm thinking about buying a Mooney, but I've never flown in one. I'm a fairly new pilot (PPL), and have about 160 hours. I trained at Galvin Flying, at KBFI, and I rent Cessna 172SPs usually. 

Would someone in the Seattle area be willing to take me along for a ride in your Mooney? I'll pay for gas. I want to get a feel for one, before making a big decision like buying and training in one. Galvin had one until last year, and then the owner sold it. I sadly never got to fly it.

So far, I've only flown Cessna 152 and 172. I've always been interested in Mooneys, and have lurked this site quite a bit in the past. I've also spent countless hours on Controller and Trade-a-Plane, and I always come back to Mooneys. 

I've thought about starting with a Cessna 182 or R182 RG also, but most of the flying my wife and I will want to do, are cross-country trips. (For example, escaping Seattle in the winter, trips to CA, NV, AZ)

A late 70's to 90's M20J seems like a great cross country setup, and a solid platform to get my IFR. I've heard parts aren't as hard to find as people say, and there are some good Mooney shops on the west coast. 

If you are interested, DM me, or reply here. 

Thanks,

-Mark

I have a J, and was just in the Spokane/Coeur d Alene area. Plane is down in texas getting an interior at the moment.  But, when it returns I’ll be doing some flying.  If you can ever get to the Spokane area, happy to take you along.  I’ve owned a 182, and been in two clubs with a 172. Also have owned a cherokee 180 and and sr22.  Happy to help answer any questions.  

• Like 2

On 10/22/2021 at 11:54 PM, mooney_mark_88 said:

Awesome, 
I’m in Spokane pretty often, I have family there. 
Im really torn between a 182 and M20J. 

When the weather is a bit better this next spring or summer I’ll get ahold of you. 

Thanks!

-Mark