Recommendations For a New Pilot

ARiehl

Hello ya’ll. I’m in this early stages of buying a short body Mooney. I am a fairly new pilot. I have had my certificate for 18 months or so and just wrapped up the instrument. This would be my second airplane. I am at about 250 hours total with 80 or so in C150 and 172s and the rest in a two seat Grumman. I have a little bit of complex time in an Arrow. Am I completely off the rails to be buying a Mooney? I would like a J-bar gear because it is simpler. 

• Like 2

You’ll do well.  Plan for about 10 hours with a good instructor, preferably one who has vintage Mooney experience.

You will probably be fine after the first 5 hours, but the extra 5 will definitely cement the complex sign off and give you a chance to practice instrument procedures as well.  My additional suggestion- use part of the time to learn some Commercial maneuvers, such as the power off 180 and the Chandelle.

Your insurance company will likely require at least 10 hours anyway.

Edited by Andy95W

Nope your not off the rails!!! Your much smarter than the average bear- The short body Mooney will go fast enough to be a good travel machine and burns so little that it’s great to just go out and enjoy the local scenery too. You have a great foundation of training and will enjoy what the Mooney offers. Smart Move!!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

57 minutes ago, ARiehl said:

Hello ya’ll. I’m in this early stages of buying a short body Mooney. I am a fairly new pilot. I have had my certificate for 18 months or so and just wrapped up the instrument. This would be my second airplane. I am at about 250 hours total with 80 or so in C150 and 172s and the rest in a two seat Grumman. I have a little bit of complex time in an Arrow. Am I completely off the rails to be buying a Mooney? I would like a J-bar gear because it is simpler.