Mooney M20K 231 (252 FWF Conversion) as first airplane

redbaron1982

Hi all, how are you?

This is my first post in the forum! :)

I'm a private pilot with a little over 100 hours, I got my license in December 2020. I'm planning on start flying a lot (target 200 hours/year) and get my IFR license. Planning on getting my HP+Complex endorsement in the next weeks.

I'm planning on buying an airplane (instead of renting) for economical purposes (due to the hours/year I'm planning to fly).

I found a very nice M20K at a reasonable price (125k) here is the link to the listing.

My question (apart of making sure that the aircraft seems to be reasonable priced) is if a M20K is a valid first plane or it is too complex/fast.

I'm most of the time ahead of my airplane (I fly very basic Warrior II). Meaning always thinking what's coming next and preparing for it, for instance tuning the next radio on standby right after a frequency change, getting the weather in advance, etc. I also always use flight following. My main doubt is that with the Warrior my landings are quite lousy, many hard landings and I've read the a Mooney is not very forgiving of pilots mistakes.

Oh, also I'm based on Houston (southwest). I haven't checked but I assume there are good Mooney APs around here.

So what are your thoughts?

• Like 1

11 minutes ago, redbaron1982 said:

Hi all, how are you?

This is my first post in the forum! :)

I'm a private pilot with a little over 100 hours, I got my license in December 2020. I'm planning on start flying a lot (target 200 hours/year) and get my IFR license. Planning on getting my HP+Complex endorsement in the next weeks.

I'm planning on buying an airplane (instead of renting) for economical purposes (due to the hours/year I'm planning to fly).

I found a very nice M20K at a reasonable price (125k) here is the link to the listing.