Considering a Mooney

Ladies and gentlemen, 

Good afternoon. I am new to flying (25 hours) and I work with my CFI. I’ve been using some good Army money for my instruction, but that has run out and I’m now spending my money. As such, I have been thinking about buying my own plane and finishing my instruction and instrument eating in my own plane. I found a 1976 Mooney M20C with only 2400TT hours for $76,000, and I’m wondering how you guys feel about that price for that year. It is IFR certified and has 600 hours SMOH. I live in VA and the plane is in Charleston, so I’d also like any advice on whom I could get in the local area to take a look at it with me. Thanks all and I look forward to hearing back from anyone willing to assist. 

vr 

HG2008

5 hours ago, Harleyguy2008 said:

Ladies and gentlemen, 

Good afternoon. I am new to flying (25 hours) and I work with my CFI. I’ve been using some good Army money for my instruction, but that has run out and I’m now spending my money. As such, I have been thinking about buying my own plane and finishing my instruction and instrument eating in my own plane. I found a 1976 Mooney M20C with only 2400TT hours for $76,000, and I’m wondering how you guys feel about that price for that year. It is IFR certified and has 600 hours SMOH. I live in VA and the plane is in Charleston, so I’d also like any advice on whom I could get in the local area to take a look at it with me. Thanks all and I look forward to hearing back from anyone willing to assist. 

vr 

HG2008

Unfortunately the price of vintage Mooneys have gone up dramatically.  I fly a 1974 C out of Fredericksburg, VA and love it.  The later model C's have electric gear and a reliable O360 A1D engine.  Good luck with your search.  Lots of Mooney's in our area and some good CFI's for transition training.  The Mooney is a complex aircraft, will require an endorsement and will cost a new pilot alot for insurance.  Good luck!

Welcome aboard Harley…

Good news/bad news…