bad landings

Josue

I just got a M20E. on the ferry trip i did 3 landings.all landing the M20E wanted to o left. The cfi flew the last leg. he is an over 30,000 hrs pilot. The plane did the same to him.

What am I doing wrong on the landings?

7 minutes ago, bradp said:

Am I understanding that the plane wanted to track left after touching down or does the plane want to roll or yaw left in flight?

track left.  I landed at the 80 mph. touch on c/l. kept drifting(tracking) left applied rt yoke and ridder and in recentered on the runway.

If its any consolation, I'm a 500 hour pilot who bought an M20E a few months ago and it took a while to learn.

There will be people here who know better than me, but i found that if you treat every landing as a rough air landing and work it the whole way down, it can work well. 

Often add power and let the plane settle slowly down. 

The other thing it get the flaps up ASAP when you land. No braking until flaps up. I know a guy who blew 2 tyres by braking too soon.

You'll get there, just be active the whole way down. 

Also, i got caught out at first with crosswinds and not straightening the rudder in time. The nose touches pretty soon, so be ready for it. 

Hope that helps

• Like 1

Try landing slower. 80 is too fast. Ideally, when the wind isn't too gusty, you should hear the stall horn just before touchdown. You are flying the plane into the runway.

I raise my flaps after the nose wheel comes down, and keep feet off the brakes until below 50 mph. This has worked well for me ar the 3000' obstructed field that I based at for my first 7 years, and at the nice 3200' field I moved to. Now I'm spoiled with 5000', and if I'm on speed and on glideslope, the midfield exit is easy to make with light braking.

• Like 6

28 minutes ago, N9405V said:

Could be the nose gear bushing is worn and needs to be replaced. That is a classic symptom.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk