N261TA restoration

Gubni

I am a student pilot and should be getting my PPL next month. I wanted to buy an airplane for long range flying. It was very easy for me to determine the best choice is a Mooney. The minimum I wanted was a C, but really wanted at least an E if possible. I started asking around and looking to see what is available. I found a J model, but it was beyond economical restoration IMO. I had asked for a tour of the facilities at a local class D airport and was amazed to see a beautiful Mooney with a thick layer of dust in the corner of the main hangar. I was told it hadn't moved in at least 5 years. I took a quick picture of the tail number and kept walking. My business is selling brake parts and real estate investing. I often find abandoned properties and hunt down the owners and restore the property. My father was a mechanic and I have a garage with a lift, so I have a good background to work with even though I know I can't do much if any work myself. At least I know what's going on and can talk to an A&P with some background of what is going on. It was a process to track down the owner because he lives in Sweden. I found an email and sent him an email with no reply. Finally after many dead ends I got a phone number and he answered. I was able to convince him to sell it to me for $10,000 AS-IS and I bought it 5-19-21.