Justifying cost of a complete glass panel.

Newbie here that just got a very nice M20E. Would love to put everything in this plane. Doesn't have autopilot, had older 430 nonwaas. How have you that have done it justify spending 25k plus on a 65k plane. I ask this because I want to. I can do it if I want but want to make the right decision. Thanks in advance for input and help. 

• Like 1

Your predicament is how I ended up trading in my C for a K, but my mission had also changed.

Does the plane serve your mission well and will it continue to do so for 10 years or so? If so, it's probably worth your while to make it how you want it.

Edited by smwash02
  • Like 1

I would approach the question this way.

What is your mission?
what is your budget?
What is your long term plan for the plane?
What are your expectations?

If you want to go complete glass their are a number of ways to accomplish that. For about 16K plus IFR navigator you can do it with Garmin GI-275s and cut your panel down to 3x instruments. For a little more you could explorer a single panel dynon or G3X, a little more and you can have a two panel dynon or G3X and for about 50K you can have Garmin G500TXI displays.

In my E I went dual G5s, a GI-275 MFD and left my old GNS-480 in its place, with Ebay and few promotions I went "glass" for under 10K installed, but it meets my mission and sets me up for a GFC-500 autopilot.

If you love the plane and it fits 95% of your mission profile and you plan to keep it as a “forever plane” then I’d recommend doing it. I have a 1978 J that is going in for a $22k paint and window job next month followed by a full redo on the panel with hopefully a [dual] Skyview HDX screen system. It probably doesn’t make much sense to invest so much money on a 43 year old plane but I always said I was buying my last plane first so for me it makes sense. I hope this helps.

• Like 3