Possible Weight & Balance Calculation Error

ManGar

Hey everyone,

Hoping to be steered in the right direction.  I have a 1963 M20C.  It was last weighed in 2000 before I owned it.  At the time the calculations were made, it came out with an empty weight of 1736.7, Moment of 86181.2, CG of 49.62(seems really aft to me) and a useful load of 838.3 lbs.  Since then, it has had several avionics replaced and most recently I had the Alternator STC done which left me with a CG of 50.12 which is outside aft of the envelope.  With no baggage or rear passengers and full fuel, and me as a 210 lb pilot, I am at the inside edge of the envelope.  This can't be right can it?  I'm thinking that maybe the arm used for the landing gear when it was weighed may have been wrong.  Does anybody know what the arm distance for the main and nose gear is?  They useded 65.75 for the main and 3.06 for the nose.  I've called around to see who could weigh it but no one I've talked to has the scales as they are expensive.  They offered to review the calculations but I'm of the mindset that if it wasn't done right the first time then it's still not going to be right.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

14 minutes ago, ManGar said:

I'll have to look but when they weighed it, they listed left main at 731.3 lbs with a arm of 65.75 and the right main at 784.3 lbs with and arm of 65.75 and nose at 533.1 lbs with an arm of 3.06.

I weighed a C earlier this year and the arms I used were 66.75" for the mains and -0.5" for the nose.   These were measured with a plumb bob from the datum, chalk lines, etc.  I think these dimensions are not published in the manual because they can potentially vary from airplane to airplane.

Do you know how much fuel was in your airplane when those weights were taken?   2048.7 lbs is awfully high for an empty weight.