Time for new engine

bbakerco

Hello oh wise keepers of Mooney knowledge,

The time has come to replace the engine in my M20J 201. (IO-360-A3B6D).  It's my first time ever replacing an AC engine so excuse my ignorance.  I'll admit that I did not look through all 175 pages of topics so I'm sure that some answers to my questions are burred somewhere in this monster.  My budget is $30k without additional financing.  My options as I see them are:

1. Buy crate engine from someone like PennYan (other recomendations???) and have it swapped.  Pro: Quick turnaround on M20. Better resale value (although not planning on selling). Financing?   Con: $$$$

2. Have my A&P tear it all down, send out for machining, assembly, etc.  Pro: Lower cost? (but more labor). Con: Slower turnaround.

3. Buy a certified block and have it built up until ready to swap.  Pro: Lower cost? Quicker turnaround.  Con: Frankenmotor?

Is there a 4rd option?  Am I missing any Pros/Cons?  I fly about 15 hours a month so I don't really want to be without the plane for 3 months but if it saves me $5k or more then probably strongly consider.  Successes, Horrors, Regrets with any of the above?  Is my budget about right or too low for everything?

Thanks,

Bryan

We are a few hundred hours away from the same decision.  Here is my reasoning:

A.  If we keep the A3B6D engine.

• Get it overhauled locally.
  • Get it overhauled by an engine specialty shop.
  • Do an overhaul exchange.  That could be Lycoming or a few of the specialty shops.
  • The decision comes down to cost, down time, and quality of work (mostly based on reputation).

B.  Switch to an A3B6 engine (my personal preference).

• Probably cannot do that locally, and also probably leaves out many of the smaller specialty shops.
  • Do an overhaul exchange as in A above.