Dirty Exhaust

Derek

I got a 1994 M20J MSE last October and she's been flying great.

I put a GoPro on the tail tiedown last weekend to record a bit of footage and noticed when I got to our first destination that the lens was covered in crud.

I wiped it off and thought maybe some dust got kicked up landing or something.

I noticed the same crud on the camera after the next and final leg.

When I got home I scanned the video and noticed that not too long after takeoff and at cruise, the video gradually got cloudier and cloudier.

So I guess it's coming from the exhaust.

I had thought the airplane was running well, I have had to add about a quart of oil in the last 10 hours.

Should I be looking into my leaning procedure? Anything else I should be looking into before getting a shop involved?  Is this likely a sign of some big issue?

Im a relatively new pilot (sub 100 hours) and this is my first aircraft... So I'm learning a ton every time I fly and talk to you all.

Thanks for the help and suggestions!

A clean belly on a single-engine reciprocating airplane is unnatural.   That's pretty normal for oil and exhaust residue to be doing that.   I worry about the ones that aren't spewing something out.

• Like 2

58 minutes ago, Derek said:

I lean until EGT peaks and richen 2 tick marks

50° Rich of Peak.

Folks will be along soon to tell you how wrong you're doing it, but it works fine and has for decades.

So...

Leaning is one thing...

• We could write for hours about the merits of LOP vs. ROP... but that has been proven to get us nowhere...
  • we might discuss what else could possibly be coming out the exhaust pipe... Put you finger in the pipe, you will know...
  • How much oil do you have in the sump...?
  • How long does it take for a quart of oil to disappear..?

My guess... something causes a quart of oil to disappear every 10hrs or so... often less...

• Either out the case vent tube.... find the tube see if the gunk matches the gunk on the lens...