High CHT, 470 degrees +.

Yes.  That's accurate.  

I've been chasing a hot #4 for a couple months now.  I had an EI UBG16.  It was showing #4 getting up to 450+ on climb out.  I made sure the baffles were tight.  They're probably the tightest baffles on the planet right now.  I changed spark plugs.  I basically did everything I can think of.

Now, I've installed a JPI EDM900.  Things have not improved.  It's the hottest cylinder by far. I could cook it pretty quick if I wanted to. On the flight linked below, I had to reduce MP, pull back the prop, and reduce climb to 2-300 fpm at 120 mph.  That kept it under 470.  Barely.

Notice that the EGT on 4 is fairly low compared to the other cylinders.  What would cause high CHT but lower EGT?  This is a carbureted O-360.  We borescoped the cylinder, exhaust valve looks fine (see photo), if maybe a little lean? Compression was 78/80.

I'm guessing it's time to call in a big gun.  I'm just trying to lead whoever it is in the right direction.

I tried to do the tests savvy lists (in flight mag check, gami spread, and intake leak test per this link https://www.savvyanalysis.com/articles/in-flight-diagnostics) but I'm not sure if I did it correctly.  If you see the big MAP drops, each test was just after each one, in order.

https://apps.savvyaviation.com/flights/3848176/e49136de-09b7-42e2-8cba-889fd5808680

IPC_2020-04-06.16.45.45.0750.jpg

IPC_2020-04-06.16.45.43.8400.jpg

First thing that comes to mind...

CHTs are a function of heating-cooling.... as in H minus C...

Sounds like you put a fair amount of effort into evening out the cooling...

So... let’s spend a moment on the heating part...

Have you done a gami spread?

Is this cylinder running leaner than all the others, when ROP?

similar question...

Is this cylinder running richer than all the other ones, when LOP?

If something is causing an actual elevated EGT in that cylinder... it will be producing more heat than the others...

Best regards,

-a-