Acclaim Type S Cruise Power Settings

Greetings,

After flying a beautiful 1998 Encore for the past 11 years I decided it was time to trade up, so I'm now the proud owner of a 2008 Acclaim Type S. Wow, what a fire breather!

I'm looking for advice on cruise power settings, both best power and best economy, from more experienced Acclaim owners. Or should I just fly it by the numbers on the visor? LOP or ROP? The only advice I've received so far is to power back to 30.5", leave the prop full forward and let 'er rip, and dial in LOP or ROP as preferred. Not sure about that and I'd like to hear more opinions from real-world Acclaim drivers.

Thanks in advance,

Joe

• Like 1

I have no Acclaim experience but will second the recommendation for the APS class Clarence mentioned.  I took it 4 years ago, and it was the best money/time I've spent as an owner.  They will give you the education you need to intelligently operate any aircraft engine so that it will give you a long, happy service life.  Once you take it, you'll pretty much never need to look at an OEM recommendation for power settings again.

That's a beautiful Acclaim.  You got the one with the "Bandit" paint scheme that has been on Controller for awhile it looks like.

I think I must be in a skeptical mood this morning, so take what I say with a grain of salt.