What does this switch do?

I am a new Mooney owner and and I am still getting familiar with my airplane. I have a switch labeled "Compass Controller" which appears to be a three way toggle. Since I am new to general aviation and aircrafts, I was hoping someone may have an idea as to what this switch does or how it would be used. I attached pictures of the panel. There is such a wealth of knowledge here that I figured I'd ask here.

panel2 copy.jpg

panel1.jpg

panel3.jpg

+1 on slaving/no slaving...looks like the decal says compass controller...

So if you don’t have slaving...it may electronically adjust the compass card to heading...

Look in the POH For HSI document’s on how to use it... it may reference the magnetometer.

PP thoughts only, not a mechanic or cfi...

Best regards,

-a-

56 minutes ago, jaylw314 said:

Not sure why the laughter, @Shadrach.  I was gently suggesting showing respect for one of seven American aerospace pioneers who put their butts on the line for their country?  

I agree with Jay. Before you start all the “snowflake” crap keep in mind that this is someone who died pushing the frontiers of aviation and knew the risks she was taking.

My classmate’s father was supposed to be on the Challenger but was replaced by someone else. I still remember her getting called out of class and then coming back crying as the principal announced that the space shuttle had exploded.

I heard all the Challenger jokes but didn’t find them to be very funny. I don’t find holocaust jokes to be funny either.  

• Like 1
  • Thanks 2

26 minutes ago, ilovecornfields said:

My classmate’s father was supposed to be on the Challenger but was replaced by someone else. I still remember her getting called out of class and then coming back crying as the principal announced that the space shuttle had exploded.