Low Oil Temp

N81FM

I’m not an expert, but my oil shows something similar in similar conditions (freezing temps + fairly low power). If I’m going to face this situation for multiple flights I typically put a dam in front of the oil cooler that blocks about 50% of the air flow.  That solves the problem.

Hello,
During last flight on my Ovation (more than 1 hour at 65% power and even more) oil temperature was not higher that 145°F !
Outside was at 34°F. What could be the reason ?
Thanks

What was your average CHT during the flight?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

What year is your O?  Is it an O1?

Something to look into...

When the thermistor fails... it starts reading lower before it doesn’t read at all...

Pull the thermistor and check it’s resistance... or put it in boiling water to see what temperature the gauge thinks boiling water is...   

Let us know what thermistor part number you have. Include a pic... if you can.

Best regards,

-a-

my O1 had a Norwich (manufacturer) thermistor.  Norwich got bought by Esterline.  Esterline seems to have been purchased by Transdigm....

• Like 1

CHT's were above 300°( 305-310°) except one which was just below 300°.

That’s a pretty cool run with a rather cold oat, not unusual to see this.

In theory you want your oil temp to exceed 212dF during the time the engine is constantly operating. This allows moisture to boil off and indeed I bet your engine oil was that hot - prior to the oil cooler which is the location of the oil temp probe. What you see on the gauge is cooled oil temp, and based on the oat and the efficacy of the cooler it can drop the oil temp that far. The oil will quickly heat up as it travels through the engine only to be cooled again.

I would not suggest blocking the cooler fins. Even if the oil is cooler than normal occasionally there is no harm in that.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, N81FM said:

Hello,