Fuels smell in cabin

I know I have some small fuel tank leak but I have noticed in my last few trips to the hangar a smell of fuel when I open the cabin. I have not been flying for about one month and here (SC) the temperature has been very hot (90F++). Also, for the first time, I bought one of those ASA CO sensor and it show dark in the center but I think it's badly impacted by the heat therefore unreliable. I'm going to change with the Quantum Eye I have been using for many years (AircraftSpruce).

Any thoughts and/or things I should check or be concerned? I cannot see anything when looking inside...

Thanks!

Get in the back seat and lift the carpet. Look in the corner for blue stain and evidence of leak. I had mine redone by Edison at Wetwingologist KFXE about 8 years ago, but before the reseal it only leaked and had fuel odor if I had more than about 12 gal in the left tank. 

2 minutes ago, Bartman said:

Get in the back seat and lift the carpet. Look in the corner for blue stain and evidence of leak. I had mine redone by Edison at Wetwingologist KFXE about 8 years ago, but before the reseal it only leaked and had fuel odor if I had more than about 12 gal in the left tank. 

Thanks I will definitely check it tomorrow. Speaking of tanks...I have not searched but I'm sure there are lots of posts related. What's the best way to solve this issue for good (or long term)?

Depends on the source. Might be as simple as fuel gauge sender gasket seeping. Might get by with a patch, might need full reseal or even bladder installation. But reseal vs bladder is kinda like religious belief, just like many other common issues. I chose reseal because it patching twice did not work. 

• Like 1

Common solutions to your challenges...

1) fuel level sensor seals get old and leak.  Easy to identify. If you are lucky, change these low cost seals....