Considering Mooney purchase NE Oklahoma

CapnKirk

Hi all. I’m new to the group. Never flown a Mooney. Lusted over them for a while. I’m a low time pilot with about 120 hours total time and 20 or so complex. I feel like a J model would make a good cross country machine and something to finish my instrument and commercial in. I had considered an Arrow since I’m familiar with them but every one of them seems to be a high time flight school reject. 

Anyone want to weigh in?  Too much airplane or good fit?  If anyone around KMIO wants to stop by, I’ll buy you some gas for a ride. 

Edited by CapnKirk
  • Like 1

Long term purchase or short? 

Went from an Archer to a Mooney 3 years ago and won’t ever look back. Archer is a great all around plane but no match for the Mooney.  Just finished my instrument a month ago.  If your gonna fly a Mooney long term I would finish the rating in the plane you’ll be flying in.   

• Like 2

Probably long term if it’s something I’m comfortable flying. I’ve got a family of 5 but the youngest is only a couple of months old.  The others are 4 and 9. If they end up going lots of places with us, I’ll probably need a twin anyway. Heard rumors of 3 person back seats but don’t know how feasible that would be. 

Hey CapnKirk, I did about the same thing.  I had slightly more hours TT but I did all my IR training and check ride in the Mooney.  8 years later I'm super happy with the plane and the fact that I did the training in the actual plane I've been flying all these years.  Go for it! 

Btw, where are you based?  (Never mind just saw your at KMIO)

-Kris

• Like 1

15 minutes ago, CapnKirk said:

I feel like a J model would make a good cross country machine YES and something to finish my instrument YES and commercial in YES

The J might be one of the best cross country machines ever made. It is a rock solid instrument platform. And a good plane to learn the commercial maneuvers in.