Anyone work with aluminum round rod?

I have an idea for a door handle but I am not an engineer and don't want to waste a bunch of time with trial and error but the factory handle SUCKS and after buying two other ones and having the same problem I am thinking outside the box. 

Can a round rod of say 5/8 or 3/4 diameter be pressed to a thickness of 1/2 inch and still be "solid"   or does aluminum degrade in strength as it is formed?

Aluminum work hardens (bend it ince, it gets stiffer; bend it a second time, stiffer yet; bend it far enough or enough times, it gets so hard it breaks). Any reason it needs to be swaged instead of cut to shape? That's what milling machines are for. Cut the profile, bend to desired weird shape.

But I always thought my outside handle was steel . . . The inner handle is definitely aluminum, but wouldn't be made from 1/2" round stock.

2 minutes ago, Hank said:

Aluminum work hardens (bend it ince, it gets stiffer; bend it a second time, stiffer yet; bend it far enough or enough times, it gets so hard it breaks). Any reason it needs to be swaged instead of cut to shape? That's what milling machines are for. Cut the profile, bend to desired weird shape.

But I always thought my outside handle was steel . . . The inner handle is definitely aluminum, but wouldn't be made from 1/2" round stock.

Its the inside handle it is cast.  I would like to make a nice machined handle that is a simple build.  (I'm guessing here)  but 1 in round stock that is drilled and pinned to fit the door release rod then a flattened rod that is curved and tig welded to that to form the handle simple easy and looks good

In my own limited welding experience, aluminum ain't exactly easy to weld (at least to weld nicely). It will still need machining to clean things up, somwhy not just start with bar stock (1" x 2") and machine it all?