Confusing voltage reads: Davtron = 28v, JPI 730 = 12v

pwnel

Hi folks,

Became the owner of a '85 231 last week.  As is normally the case a couple of things got missed in the prebuy and I'm going through those now.  My Davtron M303 reads voltage at 28.3V while my JPI indicates it at 12.1V.  This is a 231 so it's a 12V system and battery so a read of 28.3V just shouldn't happen.  So I figure:

1) The voltage read circuit is INOP (OAT looks fine), or

2)  It is wired incorrectly somehow.

As an electronics engineer I've learned that even though this might be minor, squawks like these often lead to bigger faults somewhere, so I'm keen to figure this out. I'm also not trusting the OAT (which is critical), if the unit is reading voltage that far off.

I'm replacing my INOP clock with a Davtron M800, so if that panel is going to come off we might as well fix everything.

Any input would be welcome!

IMG_0256.JPG.21f8efb20ba57a5a06952f855b6e8956.JPGIMG_0257.jpg.569c4c528902d6ace5f74ade7540f3e2.jpg

Edited by pwnel
changed photos sizes

1 hour ago, milotron said:

I am not that famiiar with later Ks; are you sure it is 12V? serial number -1000 and higher is 28V.  Not much to mess up on the Davtron. 2 wires, a sensor and no settings.

iain

Well, to be honest I didn't open up the avionics bay (yet) to put a meter on the battery. Just assumed that the 28V versions start with the 252 as I've read all over here.  (i.e, serial 25-1000 and up).  This is one of the last 231's built (25-0883), and I believe the 28V switch happened only with the 252.  (I would go and check, but it's 1h15min drive!)  Yes, not much to mess up with the Davtron, but mightly confused that the 730 would read 12V and this one 28V.

Edited by pwnel
spelling

Mooney 28 volt systems started in 1986 with the 252 (Serial #25-1000). The 201 didn't switch to 28v until 1987 (Serial #24-3000).