252 Cruise Speed

Hello all,

After the worlds longest pre-purchase it is time for me to come out of the "lurker" closet. As of today I am a brand new proud owner of C-GKRP, a 1986 252. I have been flying it for several months while the seller and I worked the bugs out, so I am feeling pretty comfortable by now. During that process I have learned an awful lot about Mooneys by reading this forum. Nice to have such a great source for advice and opinions.

She's pretty nicely equipped with Aspen, 530W, XM weather, EDM830, TKS, Stormscope, Radalt and a 3 blade hot scimitar. The only big thing left to do is ADS-B out, but being in Canada I can afford to wait for a while. The piggy bank is kind of depleted after the purchase.

I ran the GAMI spread test and sent it to folks at GAMI. They tell me I already have a .3 spread and they wouldn't try to improve it. Bonus!

There are two things I want to change, based on advice I have read on this forum. I want to switch to Tempest Fine Wire plugs. Getting my mag timing checked will also be a part of the process. I can't currently get more than about 15 degrees LOP before it starts feeling rough and my TIT is uncomfortably close to 1650 at that setting. That's starting from 65% (27" 2500 rpm) and leaning to about 10.2 GPH. 

I also plan to replace my baffle seals with a set from Guy Ginby this winter. Right now I have to trail the cowl flaps 1/2 way open to get stay below 380 CHT at 65%. I am running 100 degrees ROP until I can get the plugs changed which gives me about 14 GPH.

So finally to the question: At 8000 ft, 65% and 100 ROP I am seeing about 156 KTAS. (OAT was 14C) I know TKS can cost some airspeed, as can a hot prop, and I am probably losing 2-4 knots with the cowl flaps half open, but that seems a little slow compared to some of the 252 numbers I have seen mentioned on this forum. Any 252 owners care to comment?

Regards,

MarkIMG_0332.thumb.JPG.02147a7f0da1aec534cd8f74ff63b371.JPG

• Like 2