iPad Mini mount for M20J

SkipSS

Looking to see best solution to mount an iPad Mini in a 93 J, what are others using?  I’m a new Mooney pilot and haven’t had enough time flying it to investigate.

My guess is a pilot yoke mount would be best yet I see some photos of people placing them on copilot side. 

4A158CC1-62CF-49D5-995A-AEB7D9ED5516.thumb.jpeg.7860bc78174833a1d1634b6fbd73cd7a.jpeg

Ram makes a bunch of different mounts that can mount on the yoke or on the side or windshield with suction cups. My iPad Mini is relegated to approach plates and I like having on the yoke in front of me.

Search “ram” on this site and you will find a bunch of threads on the topic. 

@Marauder's setup looks similar to mine. The differences might be:

1. I use a Tab-Tite cradle rather than a form fitting one. It is a little more flexible in the sizes it will accept and I don’t need to throw it away when my next tablet is a slightly different size. I bought it when I had a full size iPad and just needed to get new cup ends when I moved to the mini.

2. I have a Roto-View plate which allows me to rotate the iPad from portrait to landscape. A nice convenience, although I don’t use it as much with my Mini as I did with my full-size.

• Like 1

On the copilot side I would recommend a larger iPad. The mini works perfectly on the yoke. I have mine mounted the same as @Marauder with the form fitted ram mount upside down except mine is mounted to the right as much as possible. The shell for the mini is ~$20 and with talk of discontinuing that size I might not upgrade for a long time.  The real trick is getting the angle right so the instruments behind are not blocked.  The only items blocked for me include the strobe and nav light switch. My install was a little more difficult because the aspen knob clearance and the tube clamp. 

3C648955-D56F-4F7A-BC3B-2DA3A54E90DB.jpeg

• Like 2