New Member Intro number next

I've been trolling here at MooneySpace for many months now, and have recently made a few posts and received direct, helpful guidance.  But I've never properly introduced myself and wanted to take a moment to say hello and share a little background.

First, I have to echo the sentiments of so many before me and express how grateful I am for the contributions of the individuals who make MooneySpace the excellent resource that it is.  The camaraderie here is palpable, and the occasional spirited debate and difference of opinion notwithstanding, the helpfulness and sense of community of this forum is unmatched, in my opinion.

I've been an aviation nut since I was very young, and the first thing that I wanted "to be when I grew up" was a pilot.  I was always putting those 75 cent balsa wood airplanes together and flying them, breaking them, frankensteining them back together in strange combinations, and flying them until there was nothing left.

In my late twenties I had a tandem hang gliding experience that was amazing.  About 20 years ago I was introduced to skydiving which gave me another perspective on flying (9 solo jumps before I moved on to other things), and then I got into the RC flying hobby.  First a big gas wooden trainer, then collective pitch electric helicopters, then tricopters and quads, and finally remote audio/video piloting on all of the above (insert hundreds of hours of crashing, ordering parts, and rebuilding various flying things, oh and maybe a dozen hours of actual flight time :-).