Landing Gear Down

zulu168

I am still working on my GA license. And had a chat with a retired Air Canada pilot and I told him that I plane to buy a Mooney. His first word was "they are fast":) and he said being a new pilot I might have trouble getting it insured. He also mentioned that majority of the time pilots tend to forget to drop the landing gears and insurance company knows that it's very common. He also ask me why a Mooney and why not buy a Cessna with fix gears. I told him the beauty of plane to me is retractble.  Just wondering if this has happened or even came to close happening to anyone here. I am in Toronto and and would love to get together with any Mooney owner in the area for coffee. 

12 minutes ago, zulu168 said:

I am still working on my GA license. And had a chat with a retired Air Canada pilot and I told him that I plane to buy a Mooney. His first word was "they are fast":) and he said being a new pilot I might have trouble getting it insured. He also mentioned that majority of the time pilots tend to forget to drop the landing gears and insurance company knows that it's very common. He also ask me why a Mooney and why not buy a Cessna with fix gears. I told him the beauty of plane to me is retractble.  Just wondering if this has happened or even came to close happening to anyone here. I am in Toronto and and would love to get together with any Mooney owner in the area for coffee. 

Many have and many haven't...yet!

i had no trouble with insurance. With 200hrs and 10 in type 60k hull insurance (67 F model) and 1mm smooth liability cost $1200 the first year. By the time I had 100hrs in type it was under $1000.