mooney buying guide?

I am a new pilot looking for info on my first plane purchase. I live in Alaska, however most of my flying is point to point, 200+ miles, from state maintained gravel to asphalt. None of my friends have experience in Mooneys, some tried to steer me towards a 182 or similar, but off field abilities don't interest me, I would rather use a boat or snow machine in that case, rather then compromise. 

I see a lot of 1965-1980 mooneys under my 70k budget, anything specifically to look for besides the AD's and corrosion of cabin spars. How do they do off decently maintained gravel? Will I become a prop shop frequent flyer?

• Like 1

Welcome aboard Alaskan!

We have a few threads worth reading regarding who flies off unpaved strips....

It turns out there are several people do this often and one guy takes a more extreme attitude than the others...

One thing important is how you handle the plane on take-off the prop is closer to the ground than many other planes and at low speeds and high power output you can move a lot of stones....

There are a couple of Mooney pilots around Alaska.  It is a nice way to travel fast and efficiently...

A pre-purchase inspection is a great step for protecting your wallet.

Good luck with your search.

Yes the Mooney can handle unpaved strips.  I base mine on a grass strip.  I theorize that this is harder on the landing gear components but that is true of any plane landing on a not very well maintained paved strip that is rough.

You say that your standard run is 200nm between two public owned airports one with a paved strip and the other with gravel.  I wouldn't rule out a 182 or even a 180 or 185 tail dragger.  As you are likely aware these are very capable airplanes as well and would suit your mission fine and be about 1.5 +/- hour flight in either a Cessna or a Mooney.

With a fixed gear tail dragger you can also put slightly larger tires on it that will handle the gravel runway even better.