The end is near

aviatoreb

The end is near - of transportation as we know it...

I have been saying for a few years that there will come a day when quadcopters and multicopters become human transportation.  One model could be that there are a gajillion of them in a big city, sitting on tops of buildings recharging like valkries ready to swoop down when summoned by customers, perhaps hailing them on a smart-phone like device like the way we hail an Uber today.  

Well the day is near - they claim July!

https://phys.org/news/2017-02-passenger-carrying-drone-dubai.html

I would want to go to Dubai just to try that out!

Smart cars, aka google car, are just a temporary thing - smart cars that need to drive amongst human piloted cars and compensate for irrational humans.  A little later then you could imagine that no one owns cars, as they become like a public utility and you just sumon an automatic car as needed and the coordination and autopiloting of them will become an easier problem.  And then - multicopter vehicles will come into the mix too.

All this for short range travel - and some other kind of fast airborn vehicle for long range travel.

And maybe a few enthusiasts and collectors will keep cars and airplanes (like P51's and Mooneys) to show off to their friends, but they would then no longer have any practical use.