Private pilot to ATP in 45 days

N201MKTurbo

So, about two years ago my flying buddy, Rene, calls and says “We need to go take our ATP written test”. I ask “Why?” and he says if we take it before august first 2014 we have two years to get our ATPs by the current rules, otherwise it will be almost impossible. I said to him that I don’t even have a commercial license and he said that it doesn’t matter you can take the test anyway, you just need your commercial before you take the practical test.

So I studied real hard for about a week and then went to book the test. Well it turns out that there were a lot of people doing the same thing and all the test centers were booked up. I called every test center in the valley and finally found a slot at a place at KSDL on July 28. I took time off work and took the test. I got the worst score I’ve ever got on a FAA test, but it was good enough (78%).

Well, we talked about taking training, I thought about getting my commercial and trying to get it done, but I pretty much blew it off. I had made peace with not getting it and I didn’t think much about it. I was slammed at work after all.