The Mooney 305 Rocket Conversion for Commuting?

swt94025

I am a complete noobie considering private aviation as an alternative to commercial flights from Eugene, OR to the San Francisco Bay Area.  I am considering the Mooney 305 Rocket because of its speed, seating capacity and matched range.  I am interested in hearing from other Mooney Rocket 305 owners out there if this makes sense.  In particular, I am interested in a deeper understanding of the cost-of-operation for this model as well as qualitative impressions.  The trip I would do is around 403 nm,  I welcome any comments on this idea, including how much flying experience I would need before it would be reasonable to start flying a plane like this.

Many Thanks,

Steve

• Like 1

Please search for and read all threads pertaining to Samurai Husky. You will see your question debated and learn a great deal, especially about not knowing what you don't know.

Do you even have your PPL yet??

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 2

Start here - this thread generated like 350 posts... In a way similar starting query.

What should i get?

https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?url=http://www.mooneyspace.com/index.php?/topic/18208-What-should-i-get%3F&share_tid=18208&share_fid=55491&share_type=t

1 hour ago, swt94025 said:

I am a complete noobie considering private aviation as an alternative to commercial flights from Eugene, OR to the San Francisco Bay Area.  I am considering the Mooney 305 Rocket because of its speed, seating capacity and matched range.  I am interested in hearing from other Mooney Rocket 305 owners out there if this makes sense.  In particular, I am interested in a deeper understanding of the cost-of-operation for this model as well as qualitative impressions.  The trip I would do is around 403 nm,  I welcome any comments on this idea, including how much flying experience I would need before it would be reasonable to start flying a plane like this.

Many Thanks,

Steve