Weather Decisions

GaryP1007

I am a conservative IFR pilot.  Meaning I always know my personal mins and I typically have a "plan B" that can be rolled out if needed.  That being said I often wonder if I am too conservative.  For example, I am flying from MA to Myrtle Beach this coming weekend.  Friday predicts steady rain.  That is the day that I plan on leaving.  Not assuming that at 8-10K feet I can get above anything.  

What are your concerns and limits when flying in rain?  Obviously I am not talking TS.....only moisture.  

Appreciate your constructive perspectives.

What are your concerns and limits when flying in rain?  Obviously I am not talking TS.....only moisture. 

It slows you down about 10 knots and ruins the paint. No problem flying in rain on a "need" flight but I avoid it on just for fun flights.

• Like 3

It slows you down about 10 knots and ruins the paint. No problem flying in rain on a "need" flight but I avoid it on just for fun flights.

Same thought.  From a safety standpoint rain really isn't a huge issue but it can very quickly trash your paint.  

I used to fly in steady rain from time to time when I lived in CA. It didn't ruin my paint, although I had TKS panels to protect my leading edges. As long as it was coming from smooth, non-convective, non-turbulent clouds and I could control the icing it never bothered me. My only preference was that ceilings would be well above minimums at my destination so I wouldn't find myself trapped in the clouds with nowhere to land.

Gary, my 2 cents. On the wrong side of 3 score and 10, I am much more "conservative" re weather than I was 40 years ago. It helps that I seldom "have" to get there as I often did back then.