Forming an aircraft LLC - one guy's experience

Tom

This post is for anyone interested in, for whatever reason, placing their aircraft into an LLC.  I've recently gone through the process and will share a bit about what I think that I've learned and am posting the process I went through.  I am by no means an expert and what I have done may be wrong.  Maybe comments can clarify this.  This post is only addressing an LLC for a private owner who will operate the plane privately and not for hire; it has nothing to do with LLCs that have anything to do with making money.

Why an LLC?  To summarize much, there are practically no reasons to go through this for tax reasons.  It is for anonymity reasons and potentially risk mitigation.  If you are in a partnership, it makes sense to form the LLC (or limited liability partnership (LLP)) as one extra hurdle in the search for deep pockets.  Of course if you are flying the plane and have an accident, it doesn't matter if you are in a LLP, LLC, or and INC plane--you're the operator and you're liable.  It can make sense to ease people buying into/out of the aircraft if a partnership LLC.  There can be some benefit when it comes to selling the plane, but my purpose was just for anonymity (notice a theme?) in an ADS-B tracking world.

I'm a sole owner so my options were generally a LLC or INC.  LLCs generally have much less administrative hassles and fees to pay every year, so it seems most people go with the LLC.