Cross country to California

kevinw

I'm thinking of making a cross country trip with my wife from west central Iowa to Southern California in May of 2015. Here's the deal; I'm a 500 hour pilot with an IR flying an 82 J. I'm planning a SW leg to an airport in the Albuquerque area for the first leg. Next head west to my final destination of Carlsbad, CA (CRQ). Might have to break it up into three legs. Flying in the flat Midwest I rarely use airways as we simply fly direct everywhere. I have zero mountain flying experience so I'm trying to figure out away across the lower mountains in NM, AZ and CA that is safe with my limited NA aircraft. Ive been messing around with the maps in Foreflight and the lowest MEAs are in 9k range and that makes me a little nervous. I've read some posts from some of you guys that have experience flying the area of the second leg route and would appreciate any advice. Thanks -Kevin

Hi Kevin:

I fly in California in my 84J, including the Sierra's and Lake Tahoe. I fly frequently at 13K or 14K, and have been as high as 17.5K. It takes a little time to climb that high, but the plane can do it easily. Do you have O2? If not, you will want it, and a few tanks for the trip. Filling O2 away from home is not always that easy.

Larry

• Like 1

Once you get to Albuquerque you have it made. All the mountains the rest of the way you can fly around. ABQ is a good choice for your first crossing of the divide. It is easy there unless the wind is blowing, then it can get really rough.

There is nothing between ABQ and San Diego that is much of a challenge. There is usually a marine layer between JLI and CRQ so your instrument rating will come in handy.

Enjoy the trip!

Kev. By taking the southern route you won't have to fly to high for any long periods...a couple portable O2 bottles may help....from Abq to the coast are some of the most beautiful sights you'll ever see..good luck fly safe...

• Like 1