M20K 231 TSIO-360-GB vs. LB

ifrflyer

All,

I am currently ready to cross over from the renters world to ownership.  I was going to buy a Cessna TR182RG until I came across a beautiful Mooney on Controller.  I don't know much about Mooney's, except they are efficient and fast.  

The Mooney that I am looking at (http://www.controller.com/listingsdetail/aircraft-for-sale/MOONEY-M20K-231/1980-MOONEY-M20K-231/1300287.htm) has a TSIO-360-GB engine.  

My questions are as follows:

1) Can this GB engine be converted to an LB engine?  Or a MB/SB engine for that matter?

2) If it can, could I keep the intercooler, Merlyn waste gate, and GAMI injectors?  

3) What do overhauls for these engine types typically cost? 

4) Can you fit skis (170cm) in the M20K?  

5) The owner of this Mooney guarantees 170 knots above 15,000 with a fuel burn of 9.5 to 9.8 gph.  Does this sound realistic to everyone? 

6) How does the deal itself look to everyone? 

Again, I am new to Mooney's.  I was going to go with Cessna, but I am starting to shy away due to the operating costs.  Thank you in advantage for your expertise and I look forward to hearing back!

I haven't had any problems with my GB. Intercooler and autowastegate make the GB a sweet engine.

1. Yes GB will get upgraded to LB at OH.

2. Yes keep your mods- seemless transfer

3. Comparable to other 6 cylinders. I'd guess 30k plus although I haven't gotten there yet

4. Should be able to, over rear seat

5. No. I don't trust blanket statements like that. About 2 gph low for 170 at 15k. If you're going to guarantee performance at least spell it correctly!

6. Great avionics, good numbers, fair price. There are less expensive 231s out there but you'll give up a little 'glass'. Hint- check the listings on this site :)

• Like 2

Dave,

I thought you were going to ask why his skis were so short?

Best regards,

-a-