Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing most liked content since 07/23/2017 in all areas

  1. 24 points
    I don't think I've said it before, but I really want to just thank everyone in this group. You have all been a fantastic inspiration and sort of like family. I know some of us get in heated debates, whether it's about tires, LOP, or whatever but all-in-all, this forum has been an immense part of my ownership experience. Many of you have made contact with me via PMs, Facebook, texting and calling and many of you have been an immense help to rectifying problems, offering services, ideas, and sending me unwanted items I've had since joining the Mooney family. Being a young owner I really don't have the excess funds to chip in with the multitude of flying groups I'm in, but MooneySpace and the Mooney Caravan/foundation are two I am happy to at least donate a few dollars to even remotely try and pay back how much of a resource it's been to me. I hope to one day be able to spill some knowledge I've learned to newer members. This forum is invaluable and its member's nothing short of a family. Again, just wanted again to give warm-hearted thanks to you guys. And let's all keep the discussions civil because I might have more questions on tires soon
  2. 16 points
    My outstanding IA with his world class craftsmanship and experience did a phenomenal job giving our 68' M20C a new lease on life. Firewall repairs, new relays, cables, wires, zero time engine/prop, mount overhauled, power-flow exhaust upgrade, replaced old CBs, new digital tach, painted/repairs to the baffling and the battery box, fabricated new breather tubes, all new hoses, replaced every clamp, fitting, bolts, nuts, cotterpins, the list went on and on. Because once you're there, you might as well fix it right. I thought the group might like to see the results. Next we will restore the landing gear and finally get a long overdue shiny new paint job. I'm thinking of doing it like the new Aclaim or Ovation Ultra since I've got all the 201 mods and that way from a distance it will look like the new planes :-) The 1.5 hour test flight went really well and the engine is breaking in nicely after just one long out and back cross country at exactly 75% power. First oil change coming up soon at 10 hours and then the next at 25 hours after that. Having put over 1300 hours on her over the past six years, our family hopes to keep flying her for the next 50+ years.
  3. 13 points
    I posted this to the other email lists, but for those who don't subscribe this is what I said: Some days are in a league of their own, and today was one of them. First a great show put on by the Blue Angels. Then two shows in Theatre in the Wood. The first was an hour of Q & A with the Blue Angels team. Excellent questions both from adults from young children and lots of humor from the pilots themselves. In particular “Boss” jokingly saying they were lead in group for the main show, the Apollo Astronauts. Got lots of laughs. This is probably the last time many of the Apollo Astronauts will get together as a group in one place. Their age was showing. David Hartman interviewed them and from the “horses mouths” came the history of the whole Apollo Program. Buzz Aldrin, Jim Lovell, Frank Borman, and of course Gene Krantz, among many others. Listening to the Apollo 13 story from Jim Lovell and Gene Krantz was spellbinding. Then there was the story about how the famous picture of the Earth rise came to be taken told by Jim Lovell. All the while this was going on there was the quarter Moon in the sky behind the stage…..we listened and watched the Moon…
  4. 12 points
    You'd think in 150 hours of flying, I'd have had at least one landing go pear shaped. Well, nope, not even in training. All I've ever done were 'planned' or 'practice' go-arounds. Until today. I started training for my instrument rating. Went and flew for 2 hours with my CFII, under the hood. It was rough. Convective SIGMET in the area and the air showed it. We flew around doing compass turns, partial panel (no DG or AI). We did a practice approach all the way to landing. Winds were reported 270/5 (ATIS was 58 minutes old), landing on 25. I took off the hood at 200 AGL on short final. I was on speed, but I felt sloppy. My brain was still spinning in circles. I flared a touch high, but nothing really 'bad'. As the mains touched, stall horn sounding (not a bounce) the plane lifted back off at a very slow speed. It was not good. I didn't even think about it, I just smoothly added power while turning off carb heat. Uneventful go-around and successful landing the 2nd time around. As we were in the pattern, the tower radioed that winds were now 220 at 14G20. My best guess is a gust picked us back up. If I were a better pilot, I probably could have cleaned it up and set it back down. With my brain mushed out, I wasn't in the mood to even try. I very pleased with myself that I didn't even hesitate and just did it as soon as things weren't right. My CFII commented afterwords that I was very quick to react. He said we were down, up, next thing he knew we were at full power and gaining speed. He didn't even have time to think about telling me to go around.
  5. 11 points
    Just flew my plane back home and there is a major difference in its handling and climb. The rigging was so far out that before it was corrected I'd get tired holding or fighting the plane to stay on course. Now with one finger I can track a line and use little or no rudder input. The rudder was adjusted 3+ degrees and now sits slightly right. The ailerons were so far off we measured them in inches. Now when in the neutral positon all control surfaces sit level and even. The winds were calm to still and at 4000ft 24map/2400 rpm, mixture lean to drop then one turn in, temps were green and the airspeed indicated 160MPH and I had a ground speed of 151MPH. It seems like it trims better too but I might be looking for more good than there really is. After a 40 minute flight no oil loss and the bottom of the belly didn't turn a caramel color from oil. Hopefully it stays this way for a while
  6. 11 points
    Day 9: Saint Paul Island to Nome (ILS Z Rwy 28) after fuel stop in Bethel: I had hoped to visit Saint George Island, which has the other airport in the Pribilof Islands. But the weather was low, and so I decided to head to Nome. I could have tried direct, but the fuel on Saint Paul Island costs $200 just to start the pump, and it's $7 a gallon thereafter, and though I had about 4 hours of fuel for what looked like a 3 hour flight, getting to an alternate with sufficient fuel to be both legal and, more importantly, safe, would have been a challenge. The only thing on the direct route from Saint Paul Island to Nome is the Bering Sea. Nome had a NOTAM for musk oxen on and in the vicinity of the airport, and sure enough I saw them the next day, as a fire truck at the end of one of the runways tried to shoo them with a hose as they swam past along the Snake River. Nome is a gold rush town, and there is still mining there. The most interesting thing to see in town is all of the rusting mining equipment, including some dredges. The most interesting person I met was Hugues Jurion, a 77-year-old New Caledonian retired airline pilot who had just come from Russia in an RV8 on his second round-the-world trip (New Caledonia, Brisbane, Cairns, Borneo, Taiwan, Japan, Russia, I believe, though I'm probably omitting some stops and certainly omitting some great stories from the first month of his trip. More here if you read French. Day 11: Nome to Manley Hot Springs, with fuel stop in Galena (RNAV 7): Galena is the biggest Alaskan town on the Yukon River, but that's not saying much. I don't recommend stopping there. I was headed IFR to Fairbanks when I heard the AWOS at Tanana reporting good VMC conditions, so I descended on the approach there and broke out well before the FAF (so I don't count it as an approach) and continued VFR to Manley Hot Springs, which has a 1903 vintage roadhouse right next to the airport. It was the only gravel field I landed on during this trip, and it's much longer than it was when I visited 12 years ago. It feels like Alaska there. Day 12: Manley to Fairbanks: My only fully VMC day in Alaska. Parked the plane at the campsite accessed from the taxiway past the departure end of runway 2, borrowed one of the free bicycles there for pilots, and pedaled to the University of Alaska's large animal research station, where I saw musk oxen and reindeer , then to the Museum of the university's museum (a must-see) and the botanical garden (huge cabbages, bright flowers, because of long sunny days) and the bird refuge (cranes). Didn't visit the aviation museum; saw that last time. Also camping was a part-time Lufthansa pilot who bases his big-tired Aviat Husky in Idaho. Day 13 Fairbanks to Juneau (LDA X Rwy 8), via circling Denali and fuel stop at Yakutat (ILS 11): I had intended to stop in Talkeetna or Valdez or McCarthy before heading back to southeast Alaska, but there's one narrow route from most of Alaska to southeast, and the freezing level was going to drop and the clouds were going to come in and if I wanted to be sure to get through the gate I needed to get while the getting was good. Fortunately, Fairbanks was still VMC, and that meant I could depart VFR and be on top of the 10,000 foot undercast circling Denali. It's a beautiful sight, even when you can't see all the way to the bottom. Got to the airway and picked up my IFR clearance to Yakutat. I just realized I forgot to log that ILS, so make that 12 instrument approaches in 16 days! Landing Juneau is like airliners landing at Washington National; there's a turn very close to the approach end of Runway 8 (because of a hill that would make the straight-in too steep a descent). When I got out of the plane, I saw the right main was flat. Whoops. First time that's ever happened to me. Glad it happened in Juneau rather than a place without an A&P and a maintenance shop with the necessary tools. It was too late to get ahold of maintenance that night, so I got on the horn the next morning and quickly found that although Juneau has mechanics, they are busy people, and although Juneau has a lot of planes, it had no spare 6.00-6 inner tubes. Fortunately, I got a tube ordered (and a tire, just to be safe). (I thought about reinflating the tire but was worried that even if it seemed to hold air the problem might recur at my next stop, which would be a problem.) I also spent enough time on the Web to confirm that (1) I could legally change the tire myself, (2) I might actually be able to do it, (3) I didn't have the tools, and (4) if I tried to do it myself, based on step by step instructions I could find online, I could make things worse, because although I do my own oil changes i am far from a mechanical whiz. Got the part shipped same-day from Anchorage, and a mechanic who could fix the plane on Saturday, but only at 7 p.m. So I spent Saturday visiting the Mendenhall Glacier. Day 15 Juneau to Wrangell (LDA-C): He ended up fixing the tire at 8:15 (long story, but happy ending), and was done by 9:15. That meant night IMC in the rain. There's not a lot of after-dark flying in the summer in Alaska (the sun set after midnight in Nome), but here I was flying along in the soup with rain, fortunately below the freezing level. By this point, though, my flying was pretty sharp, thanks to all the practice I was getting, in actual, so the LDA-C led me to runway lights, and a landing, and a walk to the B&B (taxi shuts down at 11, and I got in after 11. A bit before midnight, I was at my B&B. Day 16 Wrangell to Ketchikan (ILS Y Rwy 11) to Kelso, Washington: Ran the Bearfest Marathon, in continuous light rain with 10 mph winds. Finished third overall, but ran what for me was a very slow time. Still, very happy I got to Wrangell and collected my 27th marathon state and 31st marathon overall. Departed IFR after a delay caused by the fact that there's no way for a transient pilot to get to his or her plane when the Department of Transportation person is not on the job. (Glad he showed up.) Delay leaving Ketchikan because it was busy and IMC, meaning nobody could be cleared for an approach until the previous plane landed or took off and departed the airspace. VMC started an hour or two south of Ketchikan, but by the time I crossed the border into Washington it was already past 9 p.m. PDT (as opposed to past 8 p.m. AKDT), and once I got on the ground at Kelso I knew that I'd be using the self-serve pumps the next morning rather than landing at San Carlos past 2 a.m. and arriving home almost an hour after that. Got some help from the Lifestar helicopter rescue pilots and checked into a hotel.
  7. 11 points
    After being down in the shop for 7 months, we finally got to fly in July. It certainly doesn't compare to Brian's July, but it's been a good month of flying nonetheless. Approximately 7300 nautical miles and 54 hours of flight time.
  8. 10 points
    Strange thing happened on my flight from NJ to FL today. One moment it was bright and sunny and the next it went dark and I had to put my panel lights on! 7.5 hours nonstop to Lakeland. Almost 1000nm. Took it slow and only burned 65 gallons. No fuel stop. A bit of weather dodging. Fun fun. If you think flying 7.5 nonstop through an eclipse on 65 gallons makes us MOONiacs, then please vote for our photo: http://lasar.com/contest/?contest=photo-detail&photo_id=1863
  9. 10 points
    Been meaning to post this, but I got side-tracked by personal attacks on here because of who I voted for, then kicked off for two weeks for daring to respond! After six or eight months in an avionics shop and two months in another shop for paint, I decided to check the fuel tank vents before taking to the air again. Sure enough the left one was completely clogged. I mentioned checking them while picking up the plane. Had it not been for the mechanic offering to put a different fitting on his air compressor hose and blow through the vents after removing the gas caps, I might not have caught it? I learned to do that from MooneySpace and I wanted to say "thank you" and remind you all to keep checking those vents!!!!
  10. 10 points
    I just got back from a 16-day vacation in Alaska in my 1993 M20J. I had only a day and a half of sunshine. As a result, I shot 11 instrument approaches in the 16 days. My previous trip to Alaska, 12 years ago, was almost totally VFR. My itinerary was affected by the fact that I'd been to Alaska before, so, for example, I didn't need to go to Barrow again. Barrow is definitely worth a visit if you haven't been. Day 1: San Carlos, California to Ketchikan. Fuel and lunch stop at Port Angeles, Wash. Ketchikan is a natural first stop in Alaska on the coast route. The coast route can be tricky because of the possibility of ice and the paucity of bail-out airports below. VFR below the clouds is unlikely to be practical for the entire route but may offer an emergency escape from ice. A 180-degree turn and the Mooney's long range is more likely to be the best choice if you can't find a way to continue along your route at an IFR altitude. The Ketchikan airport is on a different island than Ketchikan, so you take a ferry across. There are seaplanes in the channel, and they scud run. There's no tower, but Ketchikan radio is very active in calling out traffic. Ketchikan's airport also is curious in that it has three elevations. The runway is on a hill above the main ramp, with a taxiway climbing up the hill from the ramp to the end of the runway. Overnight parking for Mooneys is on a lower ramp, downhill from the main ramp. The FBO will give you a ride to and from the lower ramp. The FBO is very busy, though, and so is the airport, so it may take a long time to get fueled and to get an IFR release. Ketchikan is totem pole heaven. I like totem poles. I was in heaven. Also, good salmon fish and chips. Stay at the Gilmore downtown. Day 2: Ketchikan to Sitka, VOR/DME-A. Did I say I like totem poles? There are a bunch at Sitka, and there is a wonderful raptor center. I made a return trip to Sitka because I liked it so much the first time. You can walk to town from the airport (about a mile?). Day 3: Sitka to Skagway, LDA X Rwy 8 at Juneau: I didn't want to scud run, so I departed Sitka IFR, knowing that Skagway was reporting 5000-foot ceilings and expecting to shoot a visual there. Surprise. Minimum vectoring altitude at Skagway is above 5000, and there is no instrument approach. The controller asked if I wanted an instrument approach into Haines, about 10 Mooney minutes from Skagway, but (and this happens a lot in Alaska) the instrument approach into Haines is not a public approach and thus not on my approach plates. The controller offered the alternative of an approach into Juneau and breaking off below the clouds, and that worked great. Then I got to Skagway and saw why there is no instrument approach. It's in a narrow valley (Skagway is from a Tlingit idiom that figuratively refers to rough seas in the Taiya Inlet, that are caused by strong north winds passing through this valley). There's a mountain rising on the left side of runway 2/right side of runway 20, so when you're on right downwind you're tight to the runway and/or scraping the treetops. As the A/FD says: APCH TO RWY 20 IN NARROW CANYON; TURBC & HIGH OBSTNS. So I am not embarrassed to say I did a go-around (actually, I'm never embarrassed to say that), and the second time I went about six or seven miles up the canyon where it widened to an extent that a non-mountain-pilot could safely do a 180, and then it was just a straight-in. Skagway is an old Yukon gold-rush transportation hub; you may have seen the classic photo of all the stampeders lined up along the trail into Canada. It's now filthy with cruise ship passengers during the day (as is Ketchikan), but it's still worth a visit for a ride on the White Pass and Yukon Route railroad (I took the excursion up to White Pass and back, so I was actually in Canada during this trip, not just over it, but you don't get out of the train in Canada), or for a climb (a somewhat strenuous hike) to Upper Dewey Lake and the Devil's Punch Bowl. Excellent Thai food at Star Fire Restaurant. Day 4: Skagway to Haines: 11 minutes en route. Not much in Haines: highlight was an old (by Alaska standards) fort, with a couple of totem poles (!). Day 5: Haines to Kodiak (ILS Y 26), with a fuel stop in Yakutat (RNAV 29): Yakutat is a $100 hamburger stop that is perfectly located near the middle of an airport-less route between Southeast Alaska and the rest of the state. Fuel is cheap by Alaska standards (under $6 a gallon). The bar/restaurant has a huge moose head on the wall and a beautiful stuffed mountain goat. I think most people who aren't pilots go there to fish, though. The only land or airport between Yakutat and Kodiak is Middleton Island, so I donned my immersion suit. Broke out right at minimums at Kodiak, and I don't think anybody else made it in that day. Landing runway 26 is no big deal until you get a look at the mountain at the departure end. It's really a go-out-the-way-you-came-in runway. But it's plenty long. Saw no bears in Kodiak, although I looked. Did see bison, and bald eagles, including a couple at the airport. Ceiling stayed low my whole time in Kodiak. Couldn't get out on Day 6; my destination was Dutch Harbor, and it was socked in, even if I could leave Kodiak when the weather was below the minimums for a return to the airport on the ILS (i.e., I couldn't use it as an alternate, and there weren't other reasonable alternates). Day 7: Kodiak to Saint Paul Island (RNAV 36), with fuel stop in Cold Bay (RNAV 33): It was still IMC the day after the day after my arrival in Kodiak, and Dutch Harbor was still inaccessible (the RNAV approach there goes down to 2000-3, so even in MVFR conditions you can't get in unless you descend elsewhere and scud run, and there was a scattered layer below the overcast, and it would have been a long, dangerous scud run), so I chose Cold Bay. There's not much there, but it's a great place to spend an hour, talking to the proprietor of the Bearfoot Inn (and store), and using the slowest internet connection known to man, thanks to the generosity of said proprietor, after I explained that I needed to send an email to explain to my parents that although I might not be able to get a call through to them that didn't necessarily mean I was floating in the Bering Sea. Speaking of which, there is two hours of Bering Sea between Cold Bay and Saint Paul Island, so I got a wonderful face-to-face briefing with the very friendly FSS specialist at Cold Bay, then donned my immersion suit and headed northwest. Saint Paul Island is farther west than any of the Hawaiian islands. It's so far west that if you go due north you're in Russia. 170-13-21.2W, to be exact. That's more than two degrees west of Wales, which is the farthest west airport on the North American mainland. Saint Paul Island is paradise if you like birds. Puffins! And murres, crested auklets, red-faced cormorants, Lapland longspurs, and every 10 feet as you walk along the road, another rock sandpiper. Also, huge northern fur seals (bigger than the seals in California, and far more numerous and more boisterous). They call Saint Paul Island the Galapagos of the north. It's well worth a visit. Few private pilots do, though. Checkout time at the only hotel (communal bathrooms, no TV, but Internet) is noon, but when I tried to check out there was nobody there. I called the number for the hotel. The flight doesn't leave until 6, I was told. My flight leaves before then, I responded. So I went for another walk, saw some more birds, and checked out an hour and a half later. More on next post.
  11. 10 points
    Lucky for you that this F owner immediately identified himself as a dope. Now you can take everything he has to say with a grain of salt. I like it when idiots show themselves quickly, saves a lot of time.
  12. 10 points
    UPDATE: Damaged nose truss removed, new nose truss installed with new shock disks. Aircraft flying again! Just say no to tugs! Aircraft was grounded for 8 days.
  13. 9 points
    And I flew it today , No excitement , Squeaked it in no problems......
  14. 9 points
    The first 15 minutes of this are all about the M20K 252 TSE. Thanks to @"Chocks" for pointing out my 252, N252AD, flying in the opening formation flight scene. Look for it at 0:45 into the video.
  15. 9 points
    I need your all's advice on something. But first, a little backstory. Rick, the airport mechanic and I went to a hangar and used a pair of bolt cutters to get into this hangar, where this Mooney 201 sat, and hasn't seen the light of day in a long time. The owner, a 98 year old gentleman, didn't want to sell it after being unable to fly years ago and so it sat in this hangar since. The family (son and daughter) want to get rid of it finally. Keys are lost, but they are looking. From what I can see the interior is in great shape too.So the next day, Rick and I pulled it out and go gave it a bath. The thing looks like it just came off the showroom floor! Under all that dirt was an incredibly clean 201. Amazingly, Rick was the original mechanic on the plane, and he still had the record for when he last worked on it...28 years ago in 1989! So as far as he knows, it hasn't flown or seen the outside of that hangar in nearly as long. Now to my question. Obviously it would need an engine, and the tanks sealed, but should I make an offer on this? Rick would be able to get me a great deal on it for me, and help me with all the maintenance, and have a place for me to keep as long as I wanted. With me being 24, funds aren't abundant, but I think over some time, I could make it owning something like this work especially as my t shirt sales have really taken off recently (pun intended), getting a raise at my job, and with having the luxury of having A&P friends who want to see me succeed in me owning my dream airplane (hense the username) and saving up a good amount of money on my growing t-shirt empire that would otherwise go to my instrument rating and on. Would it be a good idea to grab it, and work on getting it flying over the next couple of years? How much do you think its worth? How much would need to be put in to get it flying do you imagine? If anything, enjoy the pics! Edit* Checked the oil. Full at 8 quarts and looked like it was put in yesterday. Jesse
  16. 9 points
    My first upgrade was shoulder harnesses. If you don't have them, get them. Arguably the most important upgrade.
  17. 9 points
    Since it is a project of sorts, don't kill it by keeping in on a ramp for "free". It wont be free. Please put it in a hangar where you can do the work on it, keep tools, beer etc. Sunny CA kills planes just like Sunny Fl. kills planes outside on the ramp. You saw how nice it cleaned up with a bath, don't expect that with a plane that has been sitting outside for a year.
  18. 9 points
    So for all you Scottish descendants out there today's flight was from Egtr to EGPF (look it up ). Purpose to see Vicki's new home for the next two years at least while she does foundation medicine Lovely place and Vicki's new home. She has found herself a lovely new flat. So proud of her. my co pilots dodging the weather at FL080 La Route note the radar vectoring for the ILs at EGPF the wiggle down south to go north east is to avoid Luton control zone her new street young lad (about 11) busking with the bag pipes on the main shopping drag. Rather sweet.
  19. 8 points
    Purchasing something is an emotional experience. Selling something can be just as emotional an experience. The question is if you can connect with them. I'll give you an example. We had been renting a house for about five years across the street from a widow. We would often visit her and my son would go help her with a number of things around the house on a regular basis. She was a wonderful lady that we grew to love. For health reasons she decided to move back East to live with family and sell her home. She came to us and offered to sell it to us because she knew we needed a home and even more so because she loved our kids and wanted to have kids living in her home. (She and her husband never were able to have children). We told her what we could afford, which was way below the market value of her home (California real estate is ridiculous) and she agreed. We had a realtor provide her with a market analysis of her home so that she would know exactly what the value of it was and she still wanted to sell it to us for what we could afford. Knowing we would love her home as much as she did and again, that there would be kids in the home was more important than the money. We have told our kids that it is a miracle that we have this home and that it was all because of the kindness and generosity that she showed us. We keep a picture that we took with her the day before she moved on the mantle in the front room and have a picture of her and her husband on top of the piano as a reminder of what they did for us. It may take time for you to connect with the family, but then I think you have time. It's not like you were planning to start flying that plane all over the place right away. It may be more important to them that the plane goes to someone who will love it and use it than to get as much money as they can from it, only time will tell. If that is the case, then can you make them believe that you are that person? If so, understand that it will most likely take a long time to establish that relationship.
  20. 8 points
    Thanks, I think my favorite is flying over OSH with the show in the background. Of course I was following Lead so I didn't get to look out at all.
  21. 8 points
    Well that was a blast. Sunset flight over some beautiful countryside. Here is a sampling of the photos. Haven't seen the video yet. So fun to fly with Pia. Life is good. Both planes were painted by ArtCraft Paint in Santa Maria, CA
  22. 8 points
    Couldn't think of a better use for use for a non-airworthy case, cylinders and prop.
  23. 8 points
    Buy a tablet, some 100LL, fly alot
  24. 8 points
    Googling the registration looks like the tail number has been taken by another airplane? Second, I know the concern of the group will be that the family gets a fair price and isn't taken advantage of in their possible ignorance. That said if it has sat that long that does indeed devalue it quite a bit as it may need a lot of work. Personally I think it should be flying again, and maybe the family feels the same way and wants you to be the one to make it happen... be honest with them and maybe approach it this way.... I'm willing to buy the airplane for x, as there is probably a lot of work to make it flyable again. I can save you all the time of marketing it or a possible brokers fee and you'll make a young man very happy who will treasure and appreciate it and make it fly again. I can't promise that you might not make more from someone else, but I think mine is a fair offer. And make a fair offer... Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  25. 8 points
    Well what a tumultuous two days. Pic and rest of story to follow tomorrow. Ok update time. Its Friday 17:57 BST and three days ago we flew up to Newcastle University for my Daughters Graduation. She is now another Dr Hyett like my Mother and Father before her. Went IFR up there and VFR back. Although technically the weather coming back was worse than going up. EGTR - EGNT. EGTR had a notamed runway closure to finish at 125:00 UTC so i filed a plan to ensure that it opened on time as there was NO WAY I was missing her graduation due to some pot hole filling! Left at 16:30 BST and landed 1:30 hours later. Andrew 2 was busy taking pics and videos. So enjoy the country estates he took photos of. Quick Pre-flight check and make sure Husband's headset is all working fine. Take off on 08 bye bye Elstree see you tomorrow. Looks like Harvest time in the UK me thinks. Leeds Bradford Airport as we zipped past at FL100 Dont tell the Russians, but it is up norf somewhere! IMG_2152.MOV 17 mile ILS into Newcastle. Looooooooong Final with a 737 up our bum! (this was the last bit!) Arrival A few of the new Doctors! The before posing photo, Dad, Mother and Daughter. One SERIOUSLY proud father and a very clever Daughter. (who apparently is still a bit shell shocked about it all!) Dad 2 or in reality Andrew 2, he as well has had to cope with 5 years of "i cant do this, its all too hard". But She did do it and it wasnt too hard, Andrew and I can now relax (possibly) IMG_2289.MOV Leaving Newcastle in the gloom, it was YUCK The reason we fly Mooneys, they get to FL070 SO fast! The Two Andrews flying home, happy and content to See Andrew 1s daughter all grown up. Love the white interior of AL. About 40 miles after this was taken we descended into EGTR which had a 800 foot cloud base. Andrew 2 not overly happy about that! IMG_2288.MOV
  26. 7 points
    My best friend/ hangar partner/ fellow Mooniac has not flown for 1 1/2 years due to a crazy medical issuance over the last 10 years that would have cost him over $10k a year for a 9 month medical (3 months tied up in review every year). And that's for a medical condition the discovering doctor now thinks was a misdiagnosis. So.... every 3-4 years he was able to convince the VA to perform all the expensive tests and he would fly for 9 months and then go into inactivity again. Well, he got his BasicMed on Friday and, with his E model down waiting on a MT 3 blade prop (should arrive this month), I checked him out in my Rocket. He had 38 hours in it over the years, but it's been quite some time since he flew it. We did same air work and 4 landings. He greased 3 of them nicely. I felt totally comfortable with him flying the Rocket without me. Our neighboring EAA Chapter was having an airport day yesterday and they wanted me to bring the Lancair up, but also wanted the Mooney so I could help with Young Eagle flights. Steve agreed to fly the Rocket up, and I had a little side trip to Manistique, MI, flying a doctor friend over to Traverse City, MI. That flight turned a 4 hour drive into a 22 minute flight. As you can see my fried was pretty happy on the ramp in KTVC when we arrived. After that flight I pointed it to Houghton and got up in the flight levels to see if my awesome True Air Speeds in the winter would drop with warmer weather (thankfully they didn't). I flew the first Young Eagles in the Mooney , showing Steve the tricks to hot starting my Rocket. We alternated for a couple trips and then he just stayed with the Rocket while I did a couple flights in the Lancair (one Y.E. and a flight for an old friend/customer that is an A&P/IA/PP). With the exception of his first start, Steve started every time afterwards like he owned the plane. I WAS IMPRESSED. We had arranged for fuel and to leave after his last flight when I discovered a group of 8-9 girls sitting on the now quiet ramp, hoping they would still get their airplane ride. I noticed all the planes with more than 2 seats had left, with just two "2 seaters" left. I talked with Steve and we decided to grab a plane load each and help get those girls a ride. The picture below shows them next to the 17 year old pilot (accepted to the Air Force Academy) after they all got their ride. It's pretty clear they were happy campers! Steve brought his wife's good camera with a telephoto lens on it and captured some air to air on the way home. I tried to load them but they wouldn't go. I will try them later. We were two tired pups as we pushed the planes in the hangar, but what a rewarding day! Tom
  27. 7 points
    Not much Intellectual property on a plane that was designed 60 years ago.
  28. 7 points
    Drove my freshly washed chick car out to the airport for a short flight in search of 100LL <$4.00. Found success in S.W. Wisconsin. Went out to assisted living and wished a belated Happy Birthday to my 105 year old next door neighbor growing up. She is still sharp as a tack and asked me how my adult children (by name) were doing. A short trip down the hall to my two neighbor down former Tech Sargeant in support of the 101st Airborne during WWII. Jack saw a lot in is spring chicken 90 some years. Next off to my in-laws to say "Hi". Enjoyed my courtesy former police interceptor. Engine doesn't feel like it has 150k on the odometer. In laws were relaxing on their three season porch enjoying a couple of swiveling new reclining and rocking chairs. Great to see all in good spirits. Prior to my return home I picked up my favorite deep dish pizza for the .6 flight back home. Nice to have the plane flying so well with no noted squaks. Dan Auerbach's new solo effort playing in the Bose. Much to the chagrin of eh 122.5 monitoring crowd. Put her away while sun was setting and last daylight of a wonderful summer day came to a close. I love GA and I love my Mooney.
  29. 7 points
    It's very bad form to respond to "For Sale" posts like some of you have. To rich for your blood, just pass it on by. No one is interested in your opinion of someone else's item and or price. (Don't like what your watching.....change the channel)
  30. 7 points
    I won't ever list another one here unless the rules are changed. Other forums strictly forbid coming into a sales thread and making posts other than asking pertinent questions related to the sale.
  31. 7 points
    I was able to pick up 133DB from Hawk today. I have to say that Joe had to be one if not the nicest guy I have ever dealt with. The job he did on my J is simply outstandIng, and he was tremendous through the whole process. I live in Naples so I am sure I was a pain in the butt some of the time (I could come up and see it every week or so), but Joe just took it all in stride. I have included 1 picture here, but I have the whole process linked to my account if you wish to see it? I can tell you this if you want your Mooney painted take it to Hawk!
  32. 7 points
    We recently had our annual done at Oasis Aero in Willmar, Minnesota, and it was a terrific experience. After meeting Paul and Eric at the Mooney Summit, we felt very comfortable bringing our Mooney to them for annual. They have impressive Mooney expertise and familiarity, and performed a meticulous inspection. They detected missing shims in the nosegear and rerigged the main gear doors; this resulted in a cruise speed gain of 5 knots! Who knew? It must have been like that for ages! Paul and Eric are great teachers and they gave us tons of education and advice. We were allowed to participate (slow things down) as much as we wanted, and learned about expected wear points and problem areas. We'd add that they were the only ones to work on our airplane. We also saw Weep No More's impressive tank resealing operation. Paul really knows all about the tanks, from the stripping to the multistep resealing process. After seeing this, we understand why so few people do it well. Finally, they are great guys and a pleasure to work with. They extended us loads of hospitality and even provided us with a crew car when Enterprise decided that they didn't have any cars to rent. In a host of other areas, they went way above and beyond what we expected. In sum, we flew 8 hours to Willmar for our annual and it was well worth the trip! It was by far the best annual experience we've had. As a bonus, this was also there:
  33. 7 points
    Boy, this crowd is pretty low on reading comprehension . . . Yes, the OP "repaired" his switch cover, after buying and installing a new one. What's there to ramp check???? And if he is ever stopped by an inspector, disassembling the aircraft looking for suspected "illegal" repairs is beyond their purview. I'd let them pay an A&P with Mooney experience to do it, after they provide me a signed, clear copy of a court order or search warrant, and those are detailed and specific rather than being fishing expeditions. So everybody take a deep breath, calm down and reread the original post, going for content this time instead of knee-jerk reactions and "you can't do that"-itis . . . . .
  34. 7 points
    I was lucky enough to be asked to participate in a professional photo shoot over #OSH17 just before dusk. Glenn Watson of www.MachPointOneAviation.com was the photographer. Glenn Watson is based in Texas, not too far from Kerrville in case anyone would like to duplicate the experience over the Hill Country of Texas. The C-model is a 1974 flown by Flying Magazine Senior Editor, Pia Bergqvist. My airplane is a 1965 E model. Both were painted by the artists at ArtCraft Paint in Santa Maria, CA. 12 hours from Pismo Beach, CA to OSH, and about the same home, the plane performed without a hitch. The formation flight with the Mooney Caravan was a thrill. I suppose the song's lyrics speak to how full my heart is after a week with my aviation family. My heart still beats like BOOM. Mooney-flight.mp4
  35. 7 points
    Hello everyone! I used to be on here often but when I sold my E I dropped out. I'm a semi retired airline A&P, IA and I'm just completing a RV7 build. Today I bought a M20C with my brother that needs work (this is where the IA comes in handy) and have yet to move it to Naples, Fl where I live full time. Based at KIMM. If anyone requires a reasonably priced annual or repair (nothing major) I would be happy to oblige. If it's something small lunch would take care of it or if I'm not hungry being nice to me would cover it. If you want a $300 pencil whip look elsewhere, I take aviation safety very seriously. I've seen too many annuals performed from the front seat of a car. I'll post photos when I have my Mooney home.
  36. 7 points
    Actually had to drive to the graduation this weekend, but we did fly to KRYY for the pinning ceremony last week. My daughter graduates magma cum laude with a bachelors degree in nursing. Best of all, she is already employed. My son leaves for university of central Florida in 3 weeks to start a degree in computer game design. We will officially be empty nesters at that point
  37. 7 points
    Hi, I am new to the forum. I have owned my M20B for about 6 years. I have finally got around to redoing the interior and am not embarrassed to post pictures of her now. What do you guys think? Zack S.
  38. 7 points
    "A permanent reminder of a temporary feeling" - Jimmy Buffet
  39. 7 points
    I say do it. If we all relied strictly on our common sense, none of us would have an airplane in the first place. Put in the time and do your research with your A&P. If it looks good, follow your dream, take the plunge. I'll order more T-shirts!
  40. 7 points
    Jesse, I'll dive into my experience to let you determine what would be best: I found my current plane sitting in a hangar only an hour's drive away from me. Owner lost his medical but had still been flying it around the patch. It was out of annual by 2 years. The engine is at TBO, tanks were leaking. I bought it for $16k, and about 12 months later (that's not a typo), I finally flew it for the first time. My first annual was $11,000 and some change. I'm $26k into it and it's got a timed out engine and crap panel, but still is a hoot to fly. I've been lucky with the Lycoming's having the cam up top, mine hasn't been showing any signs of wear. Oil filters have been spotless. With that said, you have highlighted the BIG possibilities. The engine can be considered a run-out. You can do what my friend Cody did and buy an engine off Barnstormers and swap it. You might be able to find a mid-time IO-360 for anywhere between $10k-20k and do a swap, instantly raises the value. The tanks, that's another big part. If you do bladders, it's a buy once, cry once deal. Half of the price of my 11k annual was labor in stripping and resealing the tanks alone, so I spent 5k on those alone. I will say, when I saw the first picture, I was like "oh wow cool" and when I scrolled down and saw how bright she shone, my heart skipped a beat. That is ONE SEXY 201! Right now inside me is screaming "get it! get it! get it!" BUT you also want to make sure you are ready for this leap. Airplanes, especially at our age (I bought mine at 24, I'm 26 now) is A MASSIVE FINANCIAL BURDEN. I'm spending close to 90% of my disposable income alone to be able to say I own a plane. My girlfriend wants to go house shopping, but we can't because of the airplane. My truck is 20 years old and I would like something newer and more economical, but I can't because of the airplane. There are times that I have been depressed due to financial strain and my short and long term goals with owning versus not owning it. If I had to do it all over again, honestly, hand on heart, I would go back in time to tell my past self to walk away. I'm not sure how your income situation is, but my plane is literally eating me out of house and home. I want to finish my IFR and commercial tickets and I'll eventually sell it, at a massive loss. And this is with a carburated, Johnson-bar C model. With the J, you've got the angle valve cylinders which are almost twice the price of their parallel valve brethren, you've got fuel servos, electric gear, etc. You ask how much we think its worth and how much you would need? Well as above, someone said 50k for a runout and 100k for a perfect J model. But, that is a 1981 model and it was last flown in 89? Its a time capsule. I can't imagine it having much time, and being hangared is a good sign. I haven no idea what it would be worth but I would easily say you need $20,000 to get it back in proper shape, and thats assuming the engine does not need a swap. But please keep in mind this is just my take! This is just something I wish I would have known when I saw my plane, because I fell in love. (A couple of the MS'ers on here also persuaded me not to undertake this project). It's not a smart move to fall in love with your first. and that plane deserves a home and if you have the financial backing and an A&P who is willing to help, it CAN be done. It just takes a lot of money
  41. 7 points
    Had to make another run for supplies and as always Snoopy was a fun time saving way to do it. Flying home in near 100 degrees at takeoff and was pleased to see a drop of 15 degrees in oil temps since replacing the vernatherm in identical conditions as when it rose to its highest ever. As we were crossing Clearlake (which is a funny) name since it gets so much green during the heat of summer we passed over this bloom that was quite unusual. Never seen it get that color before. In its defense I must add that Clearlake is considered the oldest lake on the Western Hemisphere possible that it's over 160k years old. Very shallow water so sun penetration reaches the bottom makes things grow. It's also one of the best large mouth bass lakes in the country. As always good to be flying.
  42. 6 points
    Hello All, Most of you will remember my little mishap back in February of this year. If you are not familiar, here is a link to the tread. Most everyone here has purchased a Sensorcon or similar since my accident. For those that want a more permanent installation Guardian has also offered up a 20% discount on any of their CO detectors. I'm going to be installing one in my airplane and run the Sensorcon right next to it. I might be a little paranoid now. The basic Guardian model runs on ship's power but is basically a stand alone unit. The models above that have varying additional features. I'm planing on adding the AERO 551 to my panel. It has the ability to display on a JPI (also many MFD's) and has an alarm that can be wired into the intercom system. Guardian Avionics https://www.guardianavionics.com/faa-tso-certified-aircraft-co-detectors 20% off Discount Code: coaware The Sensorcon discount also is still active 20% off Sensorcon code: aircraft2017 Update on me. About a month ago I replaced 49V with a 1979 231. I tried to shop for another brand, but in the end I couldn't leave the Mooneys. Cheers, Dan
  43. 6 points
    I have owned an 1967 M20F now for 10 years. I have redone the avionics, new paint, tanks stripped / resealed, and even an engine rebuild back in 2015. Back in 2010, i did a rough cleanup of the interior and had lived with it up to this point. I had been looking for a good shop to do an interior job for me. In my search, i came across Jaeger Aviation in Willmar, MN. (KBDH). This was the same airport i had my tanks stripped / resealed ( WeepNoMore, http://www.weepnomorellc.com). I made a visit to Willmar and Bruce Jaeger showed me his Spatial panel system he designed for old Mooney's. The Spatial system enables easy removal / replacement of the panels without using a ton of screws, which was one of my biggest gripes when i reworked the interior. My visit was back in 2016. This year, i decided to really redo my interior. I had SCS Interiors (https://www.scs-interiors.com) recover the seats in leather and also bought their carpet kit pre-fitted for M20F. So, i made the trip Aug 1, 2017 and i worked alongside Bruce Jaeger, which, saved me several labor hours. He taught me how to repair, patch, and refinish the old panels that we would be re-using. What a nice outcome! Along with the new Spatial panels, the old window frames, baggage area plastic, nose gear housing, and headliner look practically new! We removed about 350 screws from the old interior and only re-installed about 40. The side panels and spar panel are easily removed for maintenance & inspection. i have attached some photos of the a job well done. Feel free to ask me any questions. If you would like to contact Bruce about redoing you interior, http://www.jaegeraviation.com, bruce@jaegeraviation.com, (320) 444-3042
  44. 6 points
    Someone said if during the break in proceedure "you have to power down, power down." I was with a fellow Mspacer and we were into the breakin proceedure on a brand new engine, about 30-40 min. when the engine started sounding different and temps after having been up and starting down had started back up again. We had been making circuits about the pattern and had just asked the tower to vector us away from the airport so we could fly off the remaining 1.5hr. Due to the change in the engine the tower was told that we wanted to make a couple more circuits during which the engine continued to change, temps were trying to climb, and it started misfiring so the breakin was interupted and my friend made a nice nearly dead stick landing. If we had not have made the additional circuits and left the airport area, we wouldve had a very different day. My point? The most dangerous time to fly an airplane is just after a mechanic has worked on it. Do NOT ever think you cant land when needed or declare an emergency. If you think something isnt right, dont take the chance. When we got on the ground, the main fuel line was so loose i could tighten it 3 full turns with my fingers. The blue fuel stains everywhere. I have to wonder how close we had come to being a statistic. My buddy, fellow MSpacer did a GREAT job in the left seat that day. You know who you are.
  45. 6 points
    I guess I have to chime in on this one. I bought a 1968 F model that sat in a dry hangar in Texas for 26 years. I bought it after speaking with some Mooney shops who suggested I walk away. I then hired Russel Stallings (SW Texas Aviation) to go look at it. He took it apart more than it was already apart, and reported that it was a clean airframe, without corrosion, damage or hail. I knowingly bought it as a project airplane. I can still hear Russel saying to me, "Project airplanes are great, you get what you want in the end." The hardest part of buying a non-flying airplane was finding mechanics on the field who were knowledgeable. When you have a non-flying airplane, you are limited to the local talent, or lack there of. I went through three A&P mechanics who could not do the project at hand (and were less than honest as well). I ultimately found good people. I used a sheetmetal mechanic from Gulfstream who did excellent work, a DER from Eurocopter, two I&A's and A&P and got the airplane flying. Once I got it flying, I found some of the best mechanics and used them, and turned the airplane into what has been appraised as a one of a kind airplane and "probably the most expensive F model out there." I spent the first half of my life as a professional symphony orchestra musician competing for one of 20 positions nationally and was tenured in a position for 8 years. Then I decided to take a more proven route and went to medical school at age 37. The complete restoration of my airplane was at least as difficult as each of my careers (although both more frustrating and more fun at the same time). A mentor of mine told me when I was in my 20's, that it is not the having that is fun, but rather the road to getting there. There is truth to this as well. In the end I have a one of a kind airplane which represents a model that Mooney never made (looks like a modern Mooney, with an IO-360, RayJay turbo, Ovation interior, glass cockpit, a dream panel, onboard Oxygen, Johnson bar and hydraulic flaps) . The avionics are superb and does everything you would expect a J model to do, and more. You have to be sure that you have the time, patience, stamina, finances, love of the project and desire to see it through to the end. My saving grace is I had the resources to turn a difficult project into the end product that I have. If I spent as much time and effort to turn it into an average airplane, it would not have been as rewarding. You will not be able to assess the extent of those resources needed now, but will be clearly apparent when you are involved in the project Your best guess of what it will take to make this into a nice J is only a guess at this stage. My guess is, you will not be able to make this an nice and reliable aircraft for an additional $20,000.00. I would double or triple that amount, and this is only to restore the aircraft back to what it was when it was flying. That does not include any upgrades. That being said, the rebuilding of the plane can be a rewarding experience. You will need a hangar in which to work, and all the shop tools necessary to work on anything on the airplane. You could even use your the experience, under the supervision of your local A&P, to build the hours to get your own A&P license. Then you will have accomplished the restoration of your aircraft and more. Hire good people to help you, and treat them well. My mistake was I hired and managed people from a distance. Bad move. That all got better when I hired excellent mechanics when were good honest people. I hope that helps. John Breda
  46. 6 points
    well, I'm screwed.
  47. 6 points
    Yep, I'm keeping a list... You don't want to be on my list. Annual or Pre-buy really doesn't make a difference in my thinking. The difference is WHO is doing whatever the inspection/evaluation is called. For the shops already listed, (Maxwell, Lasar, Topgun, Oasis, Daytona, AGL, DLK), I'd be happy to drop the plane off and wait for a phone call. I know that if the plane is no good, I'll get a call pretty quickly, if the plane is a good find, I'll get a call at the end of the process with a list of squawks and a recommendation to buy. I took my first Mooney to Maxwell for a Pre-Buy. Don called me a week later and said he was sending the report. He said it's long and expensive, but I really like this airplane and you should buy it. He took the time to talk through it with me and suggest what the seller should pay for and what I should do after. I struck a final deal with the seller and owned the plane 24 hours later. Don had it another week and I enjoyed one of the best M20C's anywhere in the country for the next 400+ trouble free hours. Understand this whole airplane ownership thing is a crap shoot at the high stakes table. And no inspection is a guarantee of anything. But going without an inspection from a "Mooney Guy" who knows what to look for (not because he's a seasoned A&P) but because he's worked on hundreds of Mooneys... and who understands he's working for YOU... is placing a bet without looking at your cards.
  48. 6 points
    If the keys are missing - what about the logbooks? Think long and hard about aircraft ownership unless you have disposable income and lots of it. So calculate your expected costs and then double them! Define your mission and requirements. If you are sinking money into a non-flying plane then you are spending money and not actually doing any flying - meanwhile spending money to insure it and just do preventative maintenance - not restorative work! Once it starts flying - the money to restore will decrease as its more fun to fly than work on a plane! Second thought - you will have a major financial liability on your hands. A non flying plane is very very very hard to sell unless its dirt cheap. My bank won't even consider a loan unless the aircraft passes a PPI and has a current annual and registered. Finding a lender may be hard so you might have to buy this airplane with cash. You will also need CASH to pay the taxes on the purchase...that is unavoidable and you can't finance that part like you can on a car. Expect a 20% down payment plus an additional 7-10% for taxes. Include 1-2K for PPI. Additionally 3-5K minimum just to address all the rubber items on the aircraft that will have dry rotted and need replaced. All this and you may get to first flight - IF the motor checks out. I would not expect to fly it more than 100 hrs after that before it starts making metal. Bottom line - an aircraft is a luxury item. I waited 23 years and even though I can "afford" a Bravo or 252 - I settled with an M20C because it fit my financial risk tolerance. I don't know your financial situation but unless you have fully funded plan in place to retire at 55-60 - I would skip buying at this time. There will be other Mooneys to be had. I'll admit that I'm being the negative nancy...but I've been in the business of trying to keep young people from making stupid mistakes for a long time...
  49. 6 points
    Molasses can be substituted for aircraft oil in extreme emergencies. Saw this on a Gilligans Island episode.
  50. 6 points
    I thought I would start a thread and hopefully other Caravaners will join in. What a fricken blast. 51 of us descended into OSH with Ride of the Valkyries on EAA radio and we had a commentator, Mike Jesch [also my CFII] and a photographer and videographer. Mike told about the history of the Mooney Caravan as well as formation flight and the mass arrivals. At the last minute I was able to get to land in formation on 36L [big runway] which was the thrill of a lifetime. My professional photographer friend Jim Koepnick snapped some great photos. Thank you to the Caravan and all the volunteers who help make this even happen safely every year.