Mooney Caravan Yuma Formation Clinic Photos/Video

StinkBug

All of you who didn't make it to this event really missed out. It was a really awesome weekend and it sounds like everyone had a great time and there was a ton of flying goin on. I was a total newbie to formation flying coming into this weekend and decided to get there a day early and got a right seat for a couple of the advanced 4-ship flights which was a total blast. First time seeing this stuff from anywhere but the ground and it was really cool. I highly recommend standing at the runup area with your thumb out if you ever see a group getting ready to go out. 

Saturday and Sunday they even let me fly! Definitely some intense mental workout and a whole new way of flying an airplane. Big thanks to all the guys that let me ride along and who helped teach me the way. I'll definitely be doing more of this, especially since kmyfm20s was there as well and lives nearby. We ended up getting to fly formation home together!

Here are some pics from the weekend, and I'm working on getting some video up as well.

post-12939-0-91227800-1427784256_thumb.j

post-12939-0-59365000-1427784257_thumb.j

post-12939-0-79300300-1427784258_thumb.j

post-12939-0-60240300-1427784259_thumb.j

post-12939-0-40910400-1427784260_thumb.j

post-12939-0-20703000-1427784261_thumb.j

post-12939-0-13242600-1427784262_thumb.j

post-12939-0-85306200-1427784262_thumb.j

The reward is that you become a better pilot,from airmanship skills, dicipline, focus, and precision. You get a circle of like minded aviators that share this passion. You will master airspeed/attitude control and general aircraft control-without the aid of flight instruments. You instrument flying skills will be vastly improved. An entirely new world of flying will open up for you.

There are risks. These are managed through proper training, currency, and use of proven procedures that are standardized for the group you fly with.

• Like 4