Oxygen M20K

RoboZoom

Hi,

I'm an experienced military 'heavy' pilot and I'm trying to make a foray into basic civil aviation.  In my searching, I've decided that the Mooney M20K with the Rocket conversion seems to fit my needs perfectly (essentially a cross country machine making 1000NM trips feasible).  

Being a total novice in civil aviation with anything more complex than a C-172, I saw that the Mooney's ceiling is FL240 and has a built in Oxygen system.  I was wondering how the oxygen was delivered (do masks normally come with the airplane?), how long it lasts, and what you all think of it's high altitude cruise capability.  Is there built in Oxygen for passengers as well?  

Any thoughts are welcome.  Thanks!

There is usually oxygen ports for everybody, but unless you ask the owner, there may or may not be masks still with the plane. (There were none with mine).

How long the O2 lasts is highly variable, depending on number of users, type of cannulas or masks, how high you are flying, and the individual consumption (varies between individuals). I have never had a problem making a 1000 nm trip, but usually flew between 14 and 17,000, with 2 people.

Not all of them come with built in O2, mine has a portable tank, which is fine and as for mask and canula, I would imagine you want to get new ones as they are cheap if you have the regulator, since it is more of a personal item ( I don't want anything that has gone in anyone else's nose )...

What I find expensive is the refill, what you save in fuel by going high, you kind of spend in O2 refilling, unless you build your own refill station, something that I'm looking into right now.

btw, enjoy the rocket, it sure flies fast for a civilian single piston...

• Like 1